Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

New Meme

Friday, Dec. 14, 2007 @ 8:13 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

To answer Shear's question: A stollen is a German Christmas bread. It is made with a sweet {think cinnamon rolls, or carmel rolls, only with cardomom instead of cinnamon} yeast raised dough and full of candied fruits and peels, raisin, nuts etc.. It is usually dusted with sugar or in the case of mine, glazed with a powdered sugar glaze. Mine was a bit flat {geometrically}, but tasted quite good, despite looking like a half baked biscotti.

I brought one to work, and it went very fast.

Since I've been tagged, I'm playing along with everyone else.

Five Things I Just Don�t Get:
1. Extremists, both political and religous. What ever happened to moderation, and consideration for other people's right to believe and live as they choose. This includes door to door "religious salespeople" as I call them.
2.People who wear long dragon nails. Just how the heck do they do anything?
3. People who come to work in fuzzy jammy pants and slippers. They look like they just rolled out of bed and couln't be bothered to get dressed before they came to work.
4. People who have to be the center of attention at all times.
5. Why I am suddenly so scattered brained, I can't find things that are in front of my face. I spent an entire day retracing my steps [last week] to locate a set of keys that were at home the whole time. UFF DA

Other Than Money, I Wish I Had More Of:
1. Time {ditto}
2. My Dad's stories, and life history.
3. Patience {ditto}
4. Extroversion. I can do a good impression, but I'm still an introvert at heart.
5. Time with my son

Five Least Favorite Words or Phrases:
1. Cunt, pussy, beaver, snatch, any other degrotatory terms for female {or male for that matter} anatomy. They have names people.
2. People who say Ax/axed, when they mean ask/asked. Speak English, when you speak English. I hear this at work, from certain states and it drives me insane. If you want to Ax me something, warn me first so I can defend myself.
3. Oh what a great holiday name. Were you a Christmas baby? or any variations thereof, which I get at least a dozen times a day at work. Not all Holly's are Christmas babies.
4. I'll probably get torched for this, but "because the bible says so" The bible also says to stone adulters and talks about slavery, yet we don't follow those rules. Read it with the context of the time it was written people
5. ???

Five Famous People I�ve Spoken With In Person:
1. Richard Simmons. Don't ask
2. Walter Koenig {Checkov, Star Trek}
3. Peter Mayhew {Chewbacca, Star Wars}
4. Terry Brooks {author} 5. Ben Bova {author}

Five Things I Do Nearly Daily That I Don�t Enjoy: 1. Wash Dishes
2. Start my car and scrape the ice off the windows
3. Go to work
4. Get out of the shower {I could stand in there all day
5. put on layers of clothes to keep from freezing to death {-20F and colder windchills anyone??}

Five Things I Wish I Had The Chance To Do More Often:
1. Read
2. cook/bake
3. blog {I'm so behind}
4. Travel
5. spend time with my family, while I still can, so many of them are getting older too fast

Five Favorite Movie, Television or Literary Quotes:
1. �Man I have visions, and the rest of the world wears bifocals." Butch Cassidy, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.
2. Do or do not. There is no try" Yoda, The Empire Strikes Back
3. "I have a bad feeling about this" Every major Star Wars character at some point.
4 "To thine own self be true, than thouest cannot be false to any man"William Shakespeare
5. My name is Indigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die" Indigo Montoya, The Princess Bride

Five Things I Have Actually Done That Sound Like Lies:
1. Lived in a YWCA for two weeks. {man is that an entry}
2. Broke wrist, ankle, toe and finger all on my left side {not all at same time}.
3.Rode my bike ten miles to town to see a movie, and ten miles back home. {I was in high school at the time}.
4.Had a certain embarrasing part of my anatomy on the front page of the paper {I was 7 at the time, and even though you couldn't see my face, everyone knew it was me. I took over a year to live that one down. I still haven't forgiven Andrist {paper publisher, state senator, and Prairie Public Board member, well known in ND}
5.??? If you haven't done it, and would like to do it, consider yourself tagged

Tommorrow is the office Christmas party. I get my five year service award. . I shouldn't complain, its a very nice jacket, and to be fair the company has treated me very well this year. My Christmas bonus was very nice, and more than I had expected. I shouldn't whine, but I'm just not into it. At least there will be free food.

I made it through my Dad's birthday, and I wasn't even done. I think we have reached a new milestone.

Stay warm everyone. Great Odin knows we're certainly freezing up here, in little Vikingland.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads