Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Ode to a child who is no more

Sunday, Mar. 02, 2014 @ 8:53 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

When I was 6 or so my mom took me to see Snow White (the Disney re-release) as she had wanted to see the first time when she was kid but with a family of 13 kids in the Great Depression, money was too precious for movies.

This was a bad idea, the kid who slept with her door open so she could see the aliens comming (it made sense to my little kid brain, I have no idea what I'd do if they actually showed up), and had to leave the room when Gunsmoke was on as they would threaten to hang people or shoot at people. I won't even go into Sleestaks, flying monkeys, or chicken season, I was a way to imaginative child.

So back to Snow White where we managed to make it about 10 maybe 15 minutes into the film before the Evil Queen sends the huntsman to cut out Snow White's heart and Your's Truly had a major meltdown freakout resulting in having to leave the theatre before he even got to the woods, pretty much ending mother daughter bonding for the day, I was an adult before I actually watched it.

Fast forward now to my love of all things Action, explosions, snarky lines and other assorted things that would have given litte Holly a child sized psychotic break. The little girl still has an outlandish imagination the occasionally goes to the scary places, but seems to have found a way to enjoy it, as long as it isn't of a real world nature, meaning certain movies are still off limits (Dead Man Walking, 12 Years a Slave and Passion of the Christ are 3 movies that will remain off my movie table). Slasher movies however are awesome material for MST3K (save for the Saw types0

My inner child seems to have totally metamorped into the person she least expected. I've gone from veggie hater to almost totally vegan, from scared of my own shadow to crushing on blood soaked Vikings (they are real, but yet not real, like Game of Throne with out the dragons and Dire wolves, and some actual history in between the myth and creative license.)

I've also gone for jokes about red heads to being the mother of one, who sometimes dyes her hair to match, from being indoctrinated with Catholocism to being a vocal opponent of most of what the Church stands for, to say nothing of the goofy mythology that is at most an allegory, not a literal history (unless you are in to hocus pocus word come into focus), and from farm girl, to total city slicker (whose country roots still show, but who prefers a place that doesn't close up shop at 8pm).

That little girl is still trying to figure out what the hell happened.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Winter is comming ~
~ Life Goes On ~
~ Tardigirl ~
~ Small states and bad winters ~
~ heart and soul ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads