Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Good bye to the Bears

Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2005 @ 8:49 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

remind me again why I stay here
Remind me again why I continue to live here

When my son was little, he had three loves besides his parents. One was collecting every rock he could get his hands one, another was the movie "101 Dalmations", and the third were any book with the Berenstain Bears. He also loved Dr. Suess and many other children's books, but the Bears were by far his favorite. Often instead of asking for candy, soda or some other treat like most kids, he would request another Bear's book everytime we went to a store. I couldn't always honor his request, but by the time he outgrew them he had amassed a collection of dozens of bear books. We visted the doctore with Brother and Sister, watched them go off to camp, learned about the Gimmes, about going along with the crowd, about teasing, honesty and about nightmares. We were there when Mama bear opened her own shop, learned ways to keep our room clean from Papa, and discovered a few things about Mama and Papa from Grams and Gramps. What ever lesson there was to learn, the Bears had an adventure to help thru it.

Along with Green Eggs and Ham (I do not like them Sam I am), Fox in Socks, and Yertl the Turtle they were constant bedtime vistors. I remember how sad I felt when Dr. Suess (aka Theodore Guisel) passed away. Today I opened the paper and read that Stan Berenstain, half of the husband and wife team responsible for my son's beloved favorites passed away at the age of 82. I didn't realize until I read the obit that the Bear books have been around since 1962. I don't remember reading them much as a child, however they were my son's best friends. There were so many of them, that we never seemed to have trouble finding new ones, or topics that would apply to my son. I think they made a huge difference in who my son is today, and his ability to overcome much of his wiring issues. They certainly didn't fix anything, but they definately had a strong influence on the type of person he is becomming. The family was always strong and loving even when they were mad at each other or didn't agree. Every book managed to teach a valuable lesson in such as way as not to hit the reader over the head with it, or talk down to kids like were stupid (unlike some other famous children's shows). Stan Berenstain will always be in the same league as Dr. Suess, The Muppets and Nickelodeon as icons of childhood that have a postive influence on children without talking down to them. May he rest in peace, he has earned it.

If like me, you are a fan. Please leave a note in his Official Guest Book

Warren finally went back to school today. Only to get sent home with a fever, sore throat and aches. He definately looked sick when I picked him up. When he says he is sick, he isn't kidding as he almost never gets sick. This kid got the long end of the immune system genetic stick. And when he does get sick it is usually over very quickly. He seemed to feel better after a couple hours, but I had him seen for a strep culture anyway. The rapid test came back negative so they didn't give him any antibiotics. Hopefully the 48 hour test will also come back negative. we did get another precription for the eczema like rash that was forming around his lips. I havne't filled it yet. So far the Caramax seems to be helping and it is much cheaper.

On top of everything else he managed to scare the crap out of me this morning when I got a call from the school (enough in and of itself to produce a panic attack), wondering where he was, as he wasn't at school. Trying not to freak out, with visions of Jacob Whetterling dancing in my head, I called home, no answer. I called the bus barn who started looking for him and than had to wait for them to get back to me. Thinking he may have missed the bus, I was hoping he didn't try to walk or ride bike in this weather. Thankfully the school called back very shortly after. He apparentlhy missed the bus, but wound up getting a ride from Jasper's mom. Two hours later I get a call that he is sick. In his words. "my throat is hurt". I could tell from talking to him on the phone he was not well. So I had to leave work early to pick him up.

Luckily it was slow today now that we are back to full staff. Yesterday I worked thru my lunch and half of one break. We had less than half staff and were busy as hell. Same thing on Monday.

I don't even want to talk about the damn tire on my car. I do, however want to shout THANK YOU To a very very good friend for doing me a major huge favor tonight. Let's just say that if my car were a horse, it most likely would have been shot out of its misery tonight.

Warren is looking kinda worn and not so well again. So back to motherhood I go.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads