Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Frizzle snirt and other wonders of the prairie

Monday, Nov. 28, 2005 @ 7:31 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

If I ever complain about summer again, I would like for somebody to hit me over the head until I come to my senses. I damn near didn't make it home tonight. I left at 4pm, thinking I could still make it home before dark (normally I leave at 5pm, we won't even get into why I was at work, suffice to say I have a super who would crawl thru the feet of Appocolyptic Horseman, rather than miss a minute of work), but it still took me an hour and a half to drive 8 miles. Warren was home alone, due to all the area schools within about a 50+ mile radius being canceled. After one tow, two pushings, and a panic attack I finally made it home, with more ice on the back window than when I left. I also had to have my drivers window down to see. There is nothing I love better than being pelted in the face with flying bits of ice, not big soft, Christmas card snow, but wind driven water based shrapnel. Add in blowing drifting snow, and the fact that I somehow ended up with 4 snow plows, BEHIND ME, and no way to pull over and let them go ahead (I also got stuck onece backing up the snow plows and traffic), and I can't count how many cars were stuck or spinning out. I'm damn lucky to be home. I guess one should never underestimate the stubborness of a mother who needs to get home to her kid. I can safely say I've had my adventure for the year. I'm just glad Henry (I drive a Ford POS, so the name just seemed appropriate), was upto it. He needed some encouragement, but he pulled thru. I'm just glad to be in my nice warm house, with plenty of everything we need (at least as long as the power lines hold up).

Last night around midnight the power flicked off for a few minutes, and I nearly had another panic attack attemtping to figure out how long before it got hold, and how much food not requiring cooking we had. Tonight the lights keep flickering. A large part of the area is without power so I should be grateful. I pray they stay on, as it is too dangerous to go anywhere. Not to mention I still have 1/4 inch plus of ice on most of my car, and everything in town is covered ina lovely coat of ice, that makes it look like it has been dipped in glass. It took me 20 minutes just to get some vision holes in my windows this morning. By the time I made it home, my car resembled an igloo with wheels. On the other hand, the weather is perfect if you are a polar bear or a penquin.

Is it just me, or does anyone else think Mother Nature is in a really bad mood this year?

Thanksgiving was great. My family came up Wed night/early Thurs am. The train that was supposed to be hear at 2am didn't get in until after 5:30 am. We all slept in. The turkey was great, dispite a small acident involving spilled juices and lots of smoke. Warren also got his early Xmas present, his psp from Gramma, which I spent the better part of the rest of the weekend helping him figure out how to put stuff on. After everybody left Friday night/Saturday Am, I had two days to myself to catch up on laundry and catch my breathe.

And wouldn't you know the minute I told Warren there was no school he jumped up like a pogo stick run wild. I wonder if that tactic will work tommorow as a gotcha to get him out of bed.

Hope everyone is warm and safe, and thanks many many multiple times to all the people who pulled me out and pushed me out so I could get home to my son. Whatever nerves I had earlier today are totally shot.

I've had all the frizzle (freeze + drizzle) and snirt (snow + dirt, usually found in spring), to last until July. I'm ready for sun again thank you..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads