Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Land of the Free ??

Wednesday, Mar. 09, 2005 @ 10:15 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Ysterday started out good, but then it turned into how much can we creep out Holly day. First I watched an episode of Law and Order:SVU that nearly gave me nightmares, even though it wasn't really scary in that sense, just weird and freaky, and who knew Martin Short could drop the stupid fool act and be delightfully and nightmarishly creepy to the bone. I guess most top comedians have seen enough of the dark side so that they can be both funny and seriously creepy (just not usually at the same time).

Then it went from entertainment creepy, to "Too close to home" creepy, which really freaked me out. Not only was the shooting in my town, but the apartment complex where it happened is with in just a few short blocks of our old house. In fact Warren's daycare provider when he was in kindergarten lived across the street, and that kid E* who tried to con him out of his laptop (and who from what I can tell will most likely grow up to be either a used car salesman or a con man), used to live in that building. When Warren would ride over to his friend N*'s house he would often ride almost right in front of that building. It is bad enough knowing some idiot is out committing a drive by in your neighborhood, but knowing that had you not moved, your 11 year old could have been near when it happened, is enough to make you stop breathing. I didn't know the teen who was shot at or anyone else currently in that building, but with F-M fast becoming the Meth Capital of the upper midwest, things are starting to get nuts around here.

Things like this are still big news in this area, but they are starting to get more and more common. I don't know how people in places like NY or LA can do it. I teach my son things like how to cross the street, to be careful of strangers, I never thought teaching him how to duck from a drive by would be on the list of parental duties, any more than I ever thought he would have to go thru lock down drills at school. Fire drills, tornado (in this area), yes that I expect, but according to my son, they also now have lock down drills, in the event that some one has a serious pyschotic break and decides to use elementary kids for target practice, or just even in case a dangerous person enters the school.

America is such a great land, that we have to go fix other countries and bring them democracy, yet our kids can't even go to school or play outside with out fear that some pyscho is going to have a break and use them for target practice, or that they may become the innocent victim of a drug war, or a domestic dispute gone crazy, or some guy getting even with some guy who disrespected him...or other stupid reason for ending somebody's life, with out regard to consequences. And people can't figure out why I support gun control - call me crazy but making guns easier to get doesn't seem like the most logical way to stop idiots from shooting each other and innocent bystanders.

**note** I grew up in rural Western North Dakota, my dad was a hunter, and I learned to shoot by age 10, I don't have a problem with hunting, as they are entirely different weapons. Most pycho's don't carry .22's and most hunters dont' go after deer and rabbits with sawed off .12 guage (Bambi burgers anyone), saturday night specials, or military assault rifles, the only purpose of which is to make it easier for people to kill each other.

I feel violated, and it didn't even happen to me. Since when is it too much to ask that you and your child be free to sit in your own home, to to attend work or school without fear of being shot.

Land of the free indeed!!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: MN can take away your license for DUI, even if you are found not guilty - HUH???
Thankful For: That we no longer live in that neighborhood , even though I always felt safe there
Music of the mind: : Damn Carnival Cruise Commercial

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads