Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Stress is my middle name

Wednesday, Feb. 02, 2005 @ 4:33 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I think God has seriously overestimated my stress handling ablilities. First I got pulled over yesterday for my breaklight being out (there is more to the story but I'm not ready to go into that yet).

But today has been the longest day from hell that I have had since I can remember. First of all last night was our first night in the new place, though we still have a ton of stuff to move. Neither of us got much sleep. This morning we ended up running late, and of course my alternator belt decided to come off. The van was also knocking and not running quite right. But I didn't have time to deal with it. Since the alternator belt was off, I had no defroster and thus was barely able to see where I was going. But we made it to Warren's school, which is only a couple blocks away. Unfortunately this turn of events left Warren and I with no breakfast. A poorly rested and hungry Warren is not a pretty sight.

I also need mention this was Warren's first full day back at his old school and we had a parent staff meeting this morning. Thank God he managed to make it thru that with very little problem. He was cranky and unhappy but suprise suprise he kept it in check and was even smiling and laughing by th end, and managed to have a good day today. His old class even threw him a going away party with cake and a lovely giant card signed by everyone and the principal even gave him a cute stuffed Eagle (school mascot) to remember them by as he was a star of the program, and I know that made his day. But back to the stressful day from hell.

My engine is barely running when I leave Warren's school so I stopped at the first station that could take me and got the alternator belt repaired. This of course left me even later for work. And the van was still not running right. Thinking the E*85 may have been part of the problem, I filled up the empty half of the tank with a higher octane, which seemed to help (or so I thought).

This is the part where my day goes into one big blur. It is a good think I am not an alcholic or I would be rip roaring drunk right now. I definately understand why people would want to drink. I just starting to breathe again.

I had to be at something very important at 2:45. I got off work at 2pm. Thinking I still had plenty of time, I stopped and wasted 20 minutes calling the cable company. I then hightailed it out of work with just enough time to make it (again so I thought). A little less than half way there at the corner of 25th st and 18th st ( Fargo has a few very weird intersections, that was not a typo), comming up over an overpass the van decided to die. I tried for what seemed like an eternity (but was probably only 10 minutes or so) to get it started. But it was a no go. I put on my hazard lights and get ready to walk a block to a C-store and call my appointment and arrange to be towed, before the Fargo PD do it for me. But before I can leave to go do anything I see a red car stopped behind me, next think I now, boom bam bang there is a 4 car pile up behind me. I was not hit or even touched, however somebody was aparrently tail-gating or something. And if that doesn't add enough guilt, I get out to see only one of my hazard lights was flashing, and apparently that confused the little red car. By the time I got back from making my phone calls the cops were there handing out citations and so forth, but fortunatly not to me. A couple of the cars left, but then just when I thought I was a maximum stress and ambulence pulls up. Just what my conscience needs. I didn't see any strecher but I did see them talking to the passanger in the second little red car, as little red car number 1 had already gone on her merry way. I just hope she was okay. The damage I could see on the vehicles looked just cosmetic but on those new cars that can be quite the moolah.

Thankfully after being towed one of the shop workers was kind enough to get me to my appointment and they were understanding about my situation, so that worked out, not wonderfully but as good as I could hope under the circumstances.

My car won't be ready until at least 6pm or later, if I am lucky and it isn't anything to major. (remember my van, the rolling money pit).

I had to take a cab to the new place only to find out Warren had been accidentally locked out. He took the bus home and got his bike (the old place was locked also) and rode back. When he was locked out, he went to the school adn tried to call me but I wasn't at work. Mr. H. , his principal gave him a ride to where my car appointment (2nd appt of the day) was supposed to be, but of course I wasn't there yet either. Thank God we found each other as I was walking to the library to use the phone, since MCI can't decide when to turn our new one on.

Warren rode his bike home with the key to get a bite to eat and his homework, since it is going to be a long night, and we have to be out by Sunday noon.

I am trying to recover my ability to breathe, and wishing I had more to eat than the vegetable soup (very good) I had at work and the package of peanut butter cheese crackers I had while waiting for my van the first time this morning. My tummy is growling, but yet my body doesn't feel hungry. I am so far beyond stressed it is not even close to funny

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Where do I start, stupid little red car?
Thankful For: My head hasn't exploded - yet!!
Music of the mind: : Facts of life theme - I have no clue why

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads