Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

When did this happen?

Sunday, May. 21, 2006 @ 9:16 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Have you ever had one of those days, where you suddenly noticed something. Something that had been right under your eyes for quite sometime, but had came on so gradually that you didn't see it, until all of a sudden one day it seemed like it was just there?

After work I walked the four blocks to the new grocery store they opened up, in what used to be empty no man's land, but has since turned into "Holy Housing developments Batman!!". I couldn't believe it. It was the most amazing store I've ever seen. Much better than any other grocery store, even the one I used to work for. Talk about your variety!!You want organic, all natural healthy crunchy hippie food!?!? Boy have they got it. Damn stupid budgets, given my druthers, I could have easily spent $200 with out batting an eye. But having to live on a rather tight budget, I had to pick and choose and make a few compromises.

Part of my getting healthy plan includes making a switch back to my old mostly organic, semi veggie ways. Yes folks, that's right, I also have a tendency toward the crunchy side, or I have in the past, and am now finally returning to my true self. I feel better when I go crunchy. Last time I was crunchy was the year before I got preggers with Warren and I managed to drop over 60 pounds.

I can do veggie (okay mostly veggie) pretty good, but I make a lousy vegan as I get very cranky when I don't get my dairy. But I finally have my source. Stoneyfield Yogurt with out HFCS (high fructose corn syrup - second only to articifial sweetener in evilness), Paul Newman products galore (have I mentioned he makes awesome stuff, and I'm willing to pay extra since his profits go to charity). Hemp waffles (trust me on this). jOh the variety..

But anyway, enough gushing. After spending an hour in grocery heaven (I could have spent more time, much more time, they have varieties of everything I never new existed. I even finally found whole wheat pastry flour (SCORE!!).

Sorry back to the subject.

After all that time I realized what time it was.I had to call home so Warren wouldn't wonder if I ran out on him or got carjacked or lost or something. When he answered the phone at first I could have sworn it was Mike, but it didn't sound quite like him. I was sure I had dialed the right number. Maybe one of his buddies answered the phone??

So I asked for Warren.

Hi Mom!! What's up?? Why are you at Hornb@cher$??

That was my baby? When did his voice get so manly sounding? I know it has been probably changing for sometime, and a while back his doctor (Dr. A that is , not Dr. W, hehe his dr.'s are A & W, wonder if they've ever thought of going into the rootbeer biz). Mentioned that his voice was changing, but I didn't really pay attention to it. Until tonight. It still has a way to go, but my boy no longer sounds like a little boy.

It was like another blinding moment of awareness. One of those Aha moments. My baby is on his last journey of childhood. He has transformed from baby to toddler, from toddler to preschooler, to school kid and tween. Now comes the last and probably hardest step on the ladder. The transisition from boyhood to manhood.

How is it, that when he was little I felt like he was going to be little forever? There were days I thought I'd be carrying a diaper bag forever, and would never again be able to leave the house with out major advance planning, not unlike the invasion at Normandy.

Now suddenly it seems like it was all so fast, like poof baby..Poof.. child..poof..teenager.

I looked at him tonight, I mean really looked at him for the first time in a long time. He is going to be a very handsome man someday. He is no longer so round and soft like a little boy, he is getting more angular, taller (by the minute it seems), longer limbed, bigger hands, ginormous feet (I mean one or so sizes bigger and its off to the speciality BigFoot store).

I look in my boy, and I can see a man inside trying to work his way out.

I only hope I'm up to the job of helping him find his way. It should be quite the intersting journey.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads