Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

My little mommy

Friday, Aug. 19, 2005 @ 12:01 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

It finally happened, I'm not sure when it happened but I first noticed it the other day. I was talking to Warren about someting, I don't even remember what , but I walked over to look him in the eye when I asked him about something and realized that while we were standing toe to toe on level ground I was not staring at him eye to eye, but we were in fact more like eyeball to nose hair. That's right, my recently turned 12 year old son has somehow manage to grow another 2+ inches sometime in the last couple of months. I am normally 5'4". This makes my son close to 5'6" or 5'7". Not phenomenally tall, but still taller than me, and more than a little unerving. How can somebody I gave birth to, suddenly be so tall.

When you figure in that this kid is also about 200 pounds, much of it, muscle (he is very strong and rides his bike 1-3 or more miles a day), despite the fact that he has a belly. I'm sure the local football coach will drool when he see's Warren enter high school. But to make matters worse, Warren is way too enjoying this change of events. Being called "shorty" by your offspring is just wrong, even if it is true, but having him pat you on your head while looking down and laughing at "my little mommy" than its just plain embarassing.

I should have known this would come, virtually every male in either side of the family (minus my dad's - guess who I take after) is 6ft plus. I just wasn't prepared to deal with it already. Poor kid, he's grown so much this summer that all the shirts he used to wear just fine, he suddenly doesn't like because they are mostly all too short now. His pants seem to still fit, but that is mainly because they were too large at the time we bought them. Somedays it seems like he goes to bed and wakes up taller than he was the night before. I am sure that he isn't really growin that fast, but it sure seems like it. Everytime I look at him, I mean really look at him, he seems bigger, taller more grown up, less the the little boy he used to be.

He still loves his matchbox cars (or anything cars for that matter), but he no longer cares about toys (unless they are the expensive electronic kind, such as his beloved PS2), he hasn't been interested in the playground, or the play place (like at McD's) for years. Gone are the days of lego's being strewn all over the house, and toys everywhere. No longer do I need to spend half an hour planning for a simple trip to the store, or trying to find emergency child care. While he still loves the sugary cereal (don't we all), he no longer has to have the one with the best advertised toy on the box. He runs errands for me, rides around town by himself on the bike, and when something breaks he fixes it himself instead.

When he was little I used to complain about all the work that went into motherhood. Getting 5 minutes in the bathroom with out a little boy popping in and asking "what are you doing mom", sitting down to eat with out sharing, or having to get up and get somebody something, the constant "play with me mom", or reading endless bedtime stories at night. Who knew there would be a day when I would actually miss that (well minus the bathroom and the daycare nightmare). I would love to read bedtime stories again, to look at picture books, or just see the wonder of the mundane in the eyes of a little boy for whom it is still all new.

My son, while hardly grown up by any means has started to leave childhood behind. He doesn't need me like he used to. No longer am I the expert on all things, the fixer of everything broken, the magic blower-away of ouchies. Now I am often wrong about things, or someone with whom to argue and explain things to like I am suddenly the child. The child who used to be fascinated by the idea of Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy, suddenly has some very strong opinions on politics (and an awareness of what is going on), ideas on the gas price issue and more. Suddenly it is like talking to a real actual person, a separate individual with his own ideas, that don't always agree with mine.

The baby softness of a few years ago is gone, and replaced by a younger softer version of what he will most likely look like as an adult (minus the facial hair and roughness he will acquire over the next 5- 7 years). The smell of baby wash and bubble bath has been replaced by the smell of Axe Body Wash, and mens deoderant.

Then I look closer and see that inside all that attitude and machoness, my little boy is still there. He doesn't like it but he does still need me, I'm still the best spaghetti and meatball maker in his world, I'm still the one who drives him around, the one knows how to spell those confounded words with the confusing rules, the one who chaufers him to his friends, the one who is there when things go wrong, the one who still kisses him good by in the morning with out objection (unless there is someone else present). He may not be a little boy, but he is still in many ways, my little boy.

I am mourning the passing of one stage, but looking foreward to a new adventure. Under current ND law he can get a learners permit in two years, not something I am remotely ready for. He is going into middle school, and already has specific ideas about what he wants to do with his life, and ideas on what he believes. He is someone to be very proud of, even when we but heads. He totally amazes me, and makes me glad to be his mother everyday.

And as long as it seemed to take to get here, it seems looking back that it all happened way to fast.

Life with Warren, always an adventure, and a new one appears to be beginning.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: http://www.in-forum.com/articles/index.cfm?id=100692§ion=News People like this make me sick. You forget laundry in the
Thankful For: My wonderful son
Music of the mind: : Puff the Magic Dragon.. sniff sniff

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads