Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Homeward bound part 1: memory lane

Sunday, Nov. 28, 2004 @ 5:59 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

You are 47% Leo


I guess maybe my mom picked the wrong time to have me?? Must be because I'm not as extroverted and domineering as most Leo's (at least not until I get to know people very well)

We got back from Williston (North Dakota), this morning about 4am (gotta love those train schedules). The trip down was actually relatively uneventful, if not long as we had to get on the train at 4:30 am (even though the train was supposed to leave at 3:50am). Since this was my first time buying tickets on line, I was paranoid that something had gone wrong and thus we were at the station by 1am and spent a long boring three hours in a tiny train station with very uncomfortable seats, no television and two very antique vending machines. Warren had a hard time, with the long wait, but he did very good. I didn't have to much problem. I had a couple of good books with me, and managed to get almost half way thru Carl Sagan's Contact (and excellent book and so far highly superior to the movie - which I also loved).

Warren fell asleep shortly about an hour or so after we got ont the train. I mostly read, and dozed a bit. Around the time the sun came up, and they announced the dining ca was open Warren finally woke up. I wasn't about to pay the prices of the dining car, so we had a lovely breakfast of PB&J, and poptarts.

Mom was waiting for us at the station. I almost didn't recognize her. When did my mom start turning into an older lady. She's still my mom, but she is so different from woman I remember as child. I guess most adults have a hard time watching their parents age, but I guess I just havent' been prepared for the changes. I think losing my Autie Floretta also aged her. Apparently my Auntie Hedy (short for Hedwig as in Harry Potter's Owl, or Cross dressing German musicians, only many years before), is taking it the hardest, Floretta was the baby of the family and Hedy was only a couple years older. Even though they live in opposite ends of the country (ND vs. NM), they were very close and when they were younger they did everything together. What is scarier yet, is that she is also 6 years younger than my mom. That's what really scares me.

According to the medical examiner (though he couldn't do a full autopsy as my Uncle Virgil wouldn't allow it), it was most likely a blood clot. She had broken her foot months ago, and it never healed. She had crutches but didn't use them, and had also developed osteoperosis (which means I have this on both sides - time to up the calcium - and the aerobics). My mom said that towards the last month or so, she was also not acting like herself, getting confused and forgetting things. My mom's family is not taking it well, and I guess neither is my Uncle Virgil (a very old-world tradional but loveable sort of guy), one minute she was fine, the next minute he rolled over and she was gone. I can't even begin to imagine.

I haven't seen her in a few years, the last times being a family reunion at my Auntie Maggies when we finally found my cousin who had disappered as a small child when his mom, (my mom's third oldest sister) passed away from tuburculosis (I think), and his father took off with him, and then left him in foster care (family rumor has it that my Aunt Marie really disliked her younger sister's choice of husband - as well as certain other rumors about him and my older aunts that I don't wish to repeat). But that reunion was one where she seemed so much like her normal self and was happy to ride with me, just cause we didn't see each other very much. The other time I remember is at my Uncle Peter's funeral (he is the one that had a drunk 19 year old miss the corner and end up in his living room taking him out). I remember her having a field day watching Warren walk around the edge of the pool and entertain people.

Probably my best memory though is when I was still in high school and we were at some family gathering at my Auntie Maggie's house and my mom was taking about how I wanted to go to college at this school in Ohio but my parents didn't think I could be that far from home, and weren't letting me go. My aunt was the first and only one to stand up for me, and tell my mom they should let me go, and how it would be good for me. The school would meet me and they look out for students (it was a small private very Catholic college). I never went, but I always remember her standing up for me, and thinking I could do it and it would be good for me. Nobody else ever thought I could do anything on my own.

I want to write more, but my son has other ideas and wants to go. So I will be back later with the rest of the trip, since I was sidelined by more memories of my Auntie.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: damn connection keeps dropping me
Thankful For: only light snow, not a blizzard
Music of the mind: : Boy Meets World - on television

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads