Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night

06.10.01 @ 22:37
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Just another boring Saturday night in the boring life of a single mother whose kid is at his fathers for the weekend. If my life were any less exciting, I would be comatose. What did my Saturday consist of: Sleeping in until noon, waking only long enough to catch some M*A*S*H reruns early in the am on FX; eating a brunch of multiple bowls of cheerios and sugar in skim milk; taking a hopeful trip to the mailbox and finding another nasty letter from the bank instead of the child support check I was counting on; calling the child support 1-800 number to find out said check was indeed mailed on Thursday (and crosses fingers, should arrive on Monday-Yayyy Sunmart here we come, not to mention other items in urgent need of being paid off); taking a trip to Cenex for a bacon cheese burger, fries with Ranch dressing and a large MT. Dew; going to Cheep Foods to get a few ultra cheap items such as juice boxes, snacks for school, Pokemon cereal (should make Warren thrilled, thinking Lucky Charms with Pokemon marshmellows), and other items; comming home cranking up the stereo (listening to some old tapes of mine, Dr. Hook and ABBA (something theraputic about listening to 4 Swedes singing in Spainish..); finally cleaning out the kitty litter (instead of thank you Mommy, you so nice you clean the kitty box, Chloe and Chester like the cats they are just gave me the ~what are you doing, hurry up, and its about time looks~typical); cleaning up the rest of the kitchen and baking a wonderful apple crisp (I have finally perfected my recipe, almost ) using apple pie filling from the earlier excursion as opposed to the fresh apples locally grown that I normally use); then watching a biography of Karen Carpenter on E! (talented chic to bad she never learned to like herself enough to eat ); then came up stairs adn here I am with my best friend HAL (aka my precious laptop computer baby). Do I not have the most exciting days? I bet you can't wait to follow in my footsteps so you too can have days like this!! What you mean you don't want to be trapped in domestic yawness. To each his own.

I recieved more bad news from one of my single mothers list. I didn't even want to acknowlede it, but its true. Brace yourselves - IT'S SNOWING IN SD!! NOOOOO NOT YET!! Last week I was still wearing shorts to work (its a very casual office unless we have a client visit). Yesterday I actually had to turn the heat on. Shorts season is officially over although if truth be told I cheated and wore shorts to day. It was in the 50's so I could get away with it. But the lows are supposed to be in he 20's this weekend. I like winter, I just wish the blizzardy -20 part didnt' last quite so long. I like this time of year. Its chilly enough to need a jacket or sweatshirt, but not much else. Its still warm enough that I don't have to cuss out my car in the morning to start it, and then spend another 15 minutes scraping ice off the windows while waiting for the defroster to warm up enough to work. I dont' have to run out to the garage at midnight because I forgot to plug the car in. (in ND it actually gets cold enough that we have heaters on our engines to keep them warm enough that they will start, in case you are wondering, those of you in perpetual tropica). I love the way the leaves are turning beautiful colors, and there is that autumn smell in the air. I love what I like to refer to as hot chocolate and fresh cookie weather- reminds me of good things from my childhood. I love it when Warren comes in from playing outside and he is chilly and has the wonderful rosy cheeked look. I love making hot cocoa and hot oatmeal for breakfast. I love snuggling under blankets and sitting in front of the (fake) fireplace. Most of all I love the fact then when the mercury goes below 60 my allergies finally go away. For a few bliss ful months I am sniff, sneeze and watery eye free. Then spring comes and all those nasty weeds, molds and grasses start procreating again. Most people look forward to spring and summer, I love the look but hate living thru it.

Warren is still continueing to do wonderful at school. He was so proud of the jeep that he earned enough points to buy. HE was especially proud of earning the points needed to get the backpack he has had his eyes on since the first day. Its actually a better backpack then the one he has, but he wants to save it till next year. Cool!! I made the off hand comment that he was doing so well he might not even need the BASE room much longer. He looked like was going to cry when I said that. "NO I need to be abe to go there". I guess just knowing that he has a place to go when he needs to chill, or things are getting to much to deal with, makes it easier for him to cope. I wish they had a room like that at work. "A chill out and get your self together room, for when that one client just pushes your button one to many times". I wonder if Kevin would go for it. Lord knows I could use it sometimes. I realize that not everyone is computer literate, but jeez if you are going to be offering and educational program that is computer based one would think a basic computer 101 might come in handy. I mean when some one can't even tell you if they have a pc or an apple or just can't grasp the concept of right click vs. left click its can be quite frustrating to have to walk them through some complex file corrections or other software issues.

I found the funniest (well I thought it was the quite funny) site while reading Young Mr. Crusher, (aka "The missing link - UP, or in RL Wil Wheaton) has grown up and become quite the comdian and web blogger. He is making me feel so old, even though he is only about 3 or 4 years younger than me. He is married and doing quite well. When did this happen. I guess when you see someone on tv for so long, its hard to admit there is a real live person behind the screen with an actual life that includes not staying 15 forever. If you were a TNG fan, go check it out. I hope he adds more stories. It was very interseting to read about TNG from his perspective, it gives a differnet viewpoint, from what I've generally heard from the others. Of course I was also one of the fans who actually likes Wesley, even if I did ocassionally make fun of the fact that he seemed just a little too "boy wonderish" at times.

The song playing in my head as I end this enlightning and throughly snore enducing entry, "Strawberry Fields, Forever" by John Lennon. Rotating with "Another Saturday night and I ain't got nobody, I got some money cause I just got paid, how I wish I had some one to talk to, I'm in an awful way.." Thanks Arriyah.

Live Long And Prosper,
Holly

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads