Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Pet Peeves..
or how to really annoy me

14.11.01 @ 10:22
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

There are only two things that really get me boiling. Okay well maybe there are a few more. But two particular subjects are espcecially close to my heart and most likely to drive out someone I would otherwise maybe actually like.

SMOKINGI am asthmatic. Even before I knew that I had no tolerance for smoke of any kind. I have never understood the allure of sticking a rolled up piece of paper filled with burning dried up weeds in you mouth and inhalling. When people are escaping from a fire, they get down low and cover thier mouth too keep from dieing of smoke inhalation. Yet smokers stand around intentionally depriving thier brains of oxygen. It would be bad enough if they were just hurting themselves. I say adults have a God Given right to destroy them selves with stupidity if that is their choice. But it isnt' just thier lives. It is the lives of me and their families and everyone they live with, work with or come in contact with while they are smokeing. I have a right to breathe air that doesn't make me sick. The really scary part is my ex is a smoker. Not just an occasional ciggy smoker, but a regular light the next with the previous human chimmany. My parents smoked when I was little. My mom is now suffereing from severe asthama, as are many of her siblings who also smoked. I know many people who because of a stupid habit in thier youth are now doomed to spending what should be their goldeen years huffing and puffing everything they walk ten steps with an Oxygen tank behind them. I do not understand why these people then turn around and sue the tobacco companies, who I have less than no sympathy for. Hello. No one held a gun to your head. You were the one who decided it was more important to look cool and impress your friends than to take care of your heatth. People have known for years how nasty smoking is, yet you chose to continue even after the doctors told you you were dying. You killed yourself just as sure as the guy whou puts a bullet in his brain. You are also killing everyone around you. Especially if you have kids. All the breastfeeding, bonding, and wonderful parenting in the world will not stop your kids from coughing if everytime they come near you, Mommy smells like a fireman who just returned from a three alarmer. I know this sounds mean and harsh, but I am sorry. I am usually a non judging complacent kind of person, but this is one thing I will not stand. Its bad enough you pollute yourself, but I have a right to choose also. I am also tired of working longer, so our office smokers can take breaks every hour to go puff themselves in to an early grave.

CARSEATS and SEATBELTS The other area that will guarantee to get me to turn from my complacent good quiet girl sef is the issue of carseats adn seatbelts. My son learned from day one, that Mommy only drives magic cars. If there is one passenger in the car who is not seatbelted or in an age appriate car seat, Mommy's car will not start nor will it move. When seat belts some how get undone, my care comes to a complete stop at the first place it is safe to do so, irregardless of where or how late. I feel sick to my stomach everytime I see people drive with the kids standing, kneeling, hanging out the window. I actaully had a friend who let her kid just sit, and then when he wouldnt' she threatened him with a seatbelt. A helllo, if you get broadsided by some drunk on his way to the bar, do you really think good behavior will be enough to save your son's life. Warren used to complain, then he realized in this area, its like pushing a wall. His safety is more important than his temporarty discomfort or immediate happiness. My job is to see that he becomes a happy well adjusted adult someday. I can't do that if he goes flying thru the front windsheild and becomes a human hood ornament. I have seen it happen too much. I watched one of my glassmates grow up with her grandmmother because one Christmas eve when she was about 5, her parents were driving some where in a blizzard and she was in the back seat while the rest of the family was unrestrained in the front seat, including her baby brother. They were in a head on collision and because she was lying down in the back seat, she got off with a few minor injuries. The rest of her family died instantly. Would seat belts have saved thier lives? Maybe, maybe not, but it would definately have improved thier odds. And if the baby had been in a car seat n the back, he would be a 30 year old man, instead of being an infant forever. In seventh grade, my math teacher suffered a tradgedy no parent should have to go thru. They were driving down a country road. The older kids in the back, the baby on his lap while his wife drove. As they were in the country on a gravel road they were going a little slower. On the way over a hill, they were in off set head on collision. The kids in the back seat were sore, but walked a way. He and his wife had minor injuries. The baby however died instantly, crushed by his father's wieight. He would have been 18 this year. I could go one, but I think the point has been made. I was never a big seatbelt user at all until I became a mom. It hit me the first time I put my son in a car to take him home from the hospital. I went from being a terror on the road, to suddenly becomming paranoid about every little bump, stop and every move of every car. I just hate to think that some one should die, when something so simple could prevent it. I have been in car accidents and I tell you, even a minor accident is enough to cause me to be freaked the rest of the day if my son was in the car. I can't protect him from everything in the world, but I am sure doing my damndest to protect from what I can.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads