Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

What I do for a living, and other boring things

16.02.02 @ 20:02
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Warren is at Mike's for the rest of the weekend. Mike is off now until Tuesday, so he will have Warren on Monday. If I want this means I can work. I need the money, but I also need some of the time off. Since its sort of a holiday for many schools it will be rather slow at work anyway. One nice thing about my account is that it does tend to follow the school calander as far a peaks and slow points.

If anybody is wondering what I do. I am technical support for a complex software program that is used by school, audiologist, speech therapists, learning centers etc to train children and teens with audiotory processing difficulties, hearing problems, or other language and reading problems. I can't tell you the name of the program, but if you are in any way familiar with a reading program based out of Oakland CA, (originally the company started at Berkley but moved to downtown Oakland ina well known building). You have heard of it. I talk to teachers, speech therapists, parents, audiologists etc... It is an awesome program, but takes a bit of training to learn. It is not a simple program. It is complex and involves sending data over the internet and then downloading it again to see graphs etc.. There are a lot of basic hardware issues, as well as user error, conflicting programs and networking issues. Of all the accounts at *** this is by far the most complex baby to service. The other systems such as the POS for a famous quick lube chain, and a well known drive in of the southwest known for its drinks and car hops on roller skates, are basically trouble shot with simple trees and usually its the same 8 or 10 solutions over and over. Our largest account is an extremely well know fast food joint that I guarantee everyone has probably eaten at one time or another. Our company wrote the POS system most of the stores use, we implemented it, so of course we were the ideal choice to support it.

Our company also supports various systems and internal help desks for many other well known companies. Its a frustrating job at times, requires a lot of patience and people skills, along with a working technical knowledge and the abilty to expain complex things to very simple people. I love my company, most of the time, but sometimes my job just gets to be too much. Just ask, Kat. One can only deal with so many stupid people before one needs to severly beat something. There are smart people in the world, but they are outnumbered by the idiots and numbskulls. The longer I work on answering phones the lower my estimation of the IQ of the average person goes. And I deal most often with so called professionals. I can't imagine what it must be link on some lines where you deal with all sorts. I could never handle working tech support for Microsoft or Dell. I can about imagine some of the calls. "No ma'am there ISN"T an ANY key, it means just click something. " And no that is not an exaggeration. Some days I think that computer stores should require new owners to pass a basic IQ test. Not a hard one, just one of simple common sense.

Warren loved selling candy bars, and I think the experience was good for him. I have a feeling I will be the owner of lots of chocoate soon. I can always take some to work. Those people love to buy them. It worked last year. I sold tons.

It was freaking gorgeous out today. Warren had a blast playing with his bike and his roller blades, which sadly are already too small. I know what I will be shopping for soon. He had a blast, and I have the muddy foot prints on my carpet to prove it. But it was great that he was able to play outside in the fresh air for most of the day the activity and the cool clean air are good for him.

I feel like doing something tonight, but it is after 8pm already. There aren't any movies I want to see, adn I can't rent anything because my VCR finally commited suicide. (She was only 13 years old). I want DVD so bad, but I can't spend the money right now, even though they are on sale really cheap at Wally World. With all the bills I have I just cant justify it, no matter how much I really, really, really, really, really want one. Especially after all the money I shelled out for fixing my car. Apparently my so called not that old battery is actaully 7 years old. Mike told me he had replaced it just a few years ago. Umm yeah. My car is a 1990. I bought it in 1997, it is now 2002. It doesn't take a math genius to notice that something doesn't quite add up. Either A)he never did anything or B)more likely he replaced it with an old used one. Lets cross our fingers and toes that nothing else decides to quit or go on strike. I don't even want to think about lising everything I have put into this money pit on wheels. I think it would blow my own mind.

On the brightside at least the IOC did the right thing. I've never really understood why the whole skating/gymnasics type sports are judged the way they are. Half the time it seems more about politics than who actually did the best. Kind of a you vote for our skater in event A, and we vote for your candidate in event B. Doesn't sound quite right to me.

I'm off. Not off to anywhere in particular, just off. Off my rocker, off my cracker, off to nowhere, just off.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads