Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Please hug your kids, and make them wear their helmets

11.04.03 @ 14:25
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

First of all I want to tell you if you ride a bike or roller blade, or especially if you have a kid who roller blades or rides a bike PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do what ever you have to to make them ride a helmet. I don't care if they hate you for it, at least it may save their life someday.

I am at home right now, when I would normally be at work. I have been running on Mamadrenelin since 9 am this morning. I got to work, everything was just like everyother day. Then I get handed and note to call some one whose name and number I didn't recognize. Luckily they told me it sounded important so I called them right away.

The rest of the details are still fuzzy. It turned out they had the name wrong it was G* my daycare lady. It was her cell instead of her home number, which is why I didn't recgonize it. All I heard were the words: cops, ambulence, bike, car, Warren. After that I went into Mom emergency mode.

My son was on his way to school, about three blocks from home, I thought he left when I did, but he came back to use the bathroom adn was going to get a POwer-aid to drink at break. WEll his dad thought the PA, was a bad idea and Warren didn't agree. He was pissed off and left on his bike hauling ass . Three blocks from here is an intersecion with no stop sign. He says he looked, but didn't see anything. My daycare lady who (Thank the maker) happened to also be at the intersection said he didn't stop. The car came and fortunatley saw him and tried to stop, but it was too late. WArren broadsided her, flew up in the air, as he went one way and his bike the other.

The cops and ambulence were all there, thinking I was at home G* called my home number and talked to Mike who came running. He didnt' think Warren was hurt that bad, so didn't let him go in the ambulence.

Thank God G* had the sense to call me, and was nice enough to pick me up. I tore out of work like a bat out of hell and we came home and picked up Warren. Who is sore and very freaked, but not too bad. Because of how he fell on his hip, we took him tothe dr. Thank God he is going to be okay. He will be sore and stiff for a while, especially when the adrenalin wears off, but he is okay.

I just keep thinking, I came this close to loosing him. Had she not seen him, had she been going faster or stopped sooner, he could have been hit and run over. I could have lost my baby. I am just starting to feel right now. He is sleeping on the couch. The thoughts of what could have happened I just can't think right now. I just can't feel. He wasn't wearing a helmet, what if he had been hit dead on, my son could be dead right now, he could be paralyzed or brain damaged. I knew these risks, I am a fanatic about seat belts, but I gave up on the helmets and it could have cost my son his life. We both agree that when he does start riding a bike again, which won't be for a long while, helmets will be a big requirment. He used to think because he was careful he would always be fine. I didn't think, we both learned differently.

I don't care if his expensive bike was damaged or he ripped his pants, those things can be fixed or replaced. I almost lost the one person who means more to me than anyone on the planet. And it happened in the blink of an eye.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads