Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

A day in the Life

08.12.02 @ 01:27
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Snuffy
Which Sesame Street Muppet's Dark Secret Are You?

brought to you by Quizilla

Nihilist%20Bear
Which Dysfunctional Care Bear Are You?

brought to you by Quizilla


Which guy are you destined to have sex with?

brought to you by Quizilla

Tis been yet another long long day. Even though he went to bed after 11pm last night, Warren still insisted that we had to get up at 8 am. I told him last night I was taking him to Treasure Planet today. He was paranoid that we were going to miss it. He was ready to go there at 10am, even though the movie didn't start until 1:30. After fixing Warren a wonderful breakfast of Fruit Loops and Cinnamon bread. I went back to bed. I watch M*A*S*H, and slept for a couple more hours, before Warren started getting on my nerves again. I ate some fruit loops, relaxed a bit and finally hit the shower. Then he got on my nerves because I wasn't getting dressed fast enough.

Then I went downstairs and make lunch. Of course he wasn't thrilled that I insisted he eat lunch first. But once it was on the table, the kid ate like he hadn't seen food in a week. Then we walked to the theatre, and met up with her, who I had invited along last night.

Compared to what I was expecting, the movie was suprisingly excellent. I couldn't believe it. It was still Disney, meaning there were the prerequisite cute side kicks (a cute pink shape shifter named Morph took the place of Long John Silvers Parrot), and the good guys learn a lesson and live happily ever after. Jim Hawkins was mostly the same. Long John Silver went from a peg leg pirate, to a part metal cyborg named John Silver. The captain was a woman, which I applauded. She knew her stuff, and I have to give kudos to Disney for joining the 20th century only two years into the 21rst. Of course instead of being at sea looking for an island they sailed ships thru space looking for a planet, and there were a ton of anarchronisms and the laws of physics were pretty much out the window, but once you suspend your disbelief it was easy to move past that. The story was pure Disney, but yet it was also reasonably good, and not cutsy. I won't give away the ending, but this John Silver, could probably teach his peg leg counter part a few things about humanity. All in all on a Siskel and Ebert Scale I would give it a thumb and a half. Warren loved it, and I actually laughed outloud, especially in one place where there was a hysterical Star Trek reference. If you love supurb, animation, that looks almost real in some places, an enjoyable story, mild violence, no language and no sex than I say go see this movie. Than animation alone was worth the cost of admission. If you can, go see it on the large format (Imax, Iwerks, etc..) screen. It practically leaps out at you. Kids will love it.

After the movie we stopped at the grocery store (home of crack head bag boys, see past entries I'm too lazy to look it up. Or you can ask her about it) where I wasted money on milk, soda, BBQ sauce (the good stuff, Space Aliens), and a pack of gum for Warren. Then home. Warren played outside , while I cruised he internet and cleaned the bathroom because, you know, I am just that talented. Amazing how much crud can accumulate in a place where people go to get clean. Yuck. I am one of those people who loves a clean house, but loathes cleaning it. If they ever invent the self cleaning house I will be first in line to buy one.

Then I made supper and finished watching Lord of the Rings with my son, who is developing a fine taste in movies. We spent the rest of the night watching bad tv.

Yesterday one of the girls at Warren's program asked me if I was Warren's mom. When I told her yes, she told me "You have a very nice kid". That's my little future stud muffin. Did I mention there is also a girl in his class who is apparently (according to Warren's para) asking about him everyday. And another girl (older woman yet :)) who likes to play with Warren. I tell you the kid is gonna be a heart breaker in a few years.

Oh and did I mention there is a message on my machine from the lady I interviewed with for the job with mighty big well known vitamin company. (those of you in the FM area I am sure know exactly which company I am talking about as they own half the town). Turns out she somewhat remembers me from 10 years ago when I worked there. I left then because I was 9 month preggo with the freckle faced terror, and my (male) bosses were paranoid I was going to go into labor at work. Well to make a long story short (new concept for me), apparently I have the job. I have to call her Monday as it was too late Friday, but why else would she call. I should be thrilled, instead I'm just 'eh'. Its such a freaking step down. Its a job and I should be thrilled. I mean its not like I can't continue to look for other work but at least we will be able to eat, and pay the bills, and maybe Santa will come down our chimney after all.

Happy Happy Joy Joy

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads