Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Did Blackwells mom have this much trouble

30.10.01 @ 10:30
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Last night, Warren and I finally exchanged his "too small" jeans for some other pants. I have since come to learn in my son's language, "too small" is often a euphemism for "Mom I wouldn't be caught dead in these ugly pants". The reason I finally learned this bit of pre adolescant linguistic trivia is that the pants my son finally settled on are the same size as the ones we returned. I also saw when he tried them on, the ones he didnt' want fit just fine, they just weren't his style. Apparently I am raising a future fashion king. "Purple is just so not my color mom", and "Why can't I have the super baggy blue jeans with neon green woven in to the fabric". I tell you I haven't had this many arguements over clothes, since I had to explain the untied sneakers, ripped jeans and and acid washed look to my mom (who grew up dressed like on of "The Waltons"). I can't wait till he hits puberty full on. I have a feeling I 'll be buying Tylenol by the case.

We finally went to NoDak and bought Warren a pair of winter boots. He called him from his Dad's on Sunday. Apparently his not having winter boots, even though all the snow from our recent blizzard is melted, and the mercury is at a balmy 40 F, still constitues a major fashion emergency. Mom I can't go out at recess with out boots. Finding a pair was actually rather painless, unless you count the bite on my checkbook. The scariest part, was when I got home later and realized with a start that my 8 year old son is less then one shoe size smaller than ME! I am not a small footed woman, his dad is not small footed. In fact there ain't a tiny foot to be had in any branch of our family tree. (I'm a 10 in womens, Mike is a 12 in mens, Warren is already a size 7 mens (=9 in womens, which I can sometimes wear depending on the manufacturer). Now that is not something a mother wants to know. Kids are not supposed to grow up this fast. You give birth you do everythign, and what do they do, they grow up, move on, and become separate people. What gives?/ (For the humor impared, that last bit was meant sarcastically). I knew my son wouldn't be little forever. I got my first hint of this, the day he decided he no longer needed to nurse, as regular food was now enough, and he no longer had the physical or psychological need to be nourished directly from mommy. Then shortly after he decided he was a big enough boy that he could use the potty and not need diapers or pull ups anymore. Thus he moved a little bit further away from me. Then he learned to ride a two wheeler. Now he wasnt just walkeing away, he had wheels to take him. (only a block but still). Now he has his own ideas about clothes, and books and movies. He doesn't like everything I make to eat. He has original ideas, and they are intelligent. I feel like at this rate when I wake up tommorrow he'll be taking off for college, and by next week I'll be greeted with shouts of Grandma. On the positive side, he still loves to have me read to him. Right now we are on Chapter 7 of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. He still needs his Mommy for some things.. He just wont' understand till he is a Daddy. It doesn't matter if he is 2, 12, 20 or 102, as long as I am alive he will always be my baby, even when he makes me want to put my head in the microwave (well if I had a microwave).

Sunday while I was wasting time after I brought Warren back to Mikes for the afternoon, I found the perfect birthday present for my mom. (11-18-1932) I hadn't planned on buying anything, save for some patch attach for Warren Cub Scout shirt. But I saw it , I just new it was for my mom. It was a cookbook written about the Depression. (that's the 1930's for anyone who may have missed that day in US history). My mom was born in 32, and my Dad in 30, so I have heard many stories. Many of the recipes looked like what my mom used to make when I was a kid, and I was a little kid in the 70's. I am planning to photo copy some of the recipes and then send it to her. They are all good old fashioned filling American food, and they use cheap everyday ingredients that dont' require a special trip to the store for some imported spice no one can pronounce, but that costs more than a tank of gas. I also got a card that is also a little booklet of apple recipes. Now I just need to get busy and get it sent out.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads