Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

A New Method of Ending Terrorism

20.09.01 @ 13:52
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I found this article in our local paper.. I am not sure how I feel about the author's point of view, but it does give one a lot to think about. Also, thanks Cin for posting in my forum.

Other views: There is better way than than waging a long war

By William Snyder Jr.

The Forum - 09/20/2001

I have been profoundly shaken by the terrorist attacks on the United States. Over and over again I imagine myself in one of the airliners or in the World Trade Center. Or I imagine having a loved one in one of the planes, or in the WTC, or at work at the Pentagon (one of my brothers lives in D.C.).

Students in my classes are confused, angry and frightened. I was frightened too; When planes began to land again at Hector I would stop and listen, just to make sure. For several nights after the attack, I felt vulnerable in my apartment; Who might come up the stairs? All our lives have changed. And the United States has changed, in ways that we may not now be able to imagine.

Now we must heal ourselves and the national psyche. We must morn with and provide for the families devastated by the attacks. We must rebuild New York and the Pentagon. We must reinvigorate our economy. And we must bring Osama bin Laden and his allies, if they were the perpetrators, to justice.

But bringing bin Laden to justice (if we proceed in the direction current sentiment is pointing) will be very difficult; it will be a prolonged and very expensive endeavor both in terms of dollars and more importantly, in terms of human loss, for both sides. War should be the last resort.

There is a better way, and though it would also be very expensive monetarily, it would be cheaper in the long run. And it would be constructive, rather than destructive, stabilizing rather than destabilizing.

Together with our allies, let�s use the money it will take to eliminate bin Laden and eradicate terrorism and let�s do this:

Let�s eradicate malaria in Rwanda; Let�s provide mosquito nets for children in Cambodia; Let�s give small-plot farmers in Peru the means and motivation to abandon coca for alternative cash crops; Let�s buy up-to-date school books for children in Bangladesh; Let�s build hospitals in Tanzania; Let�s supply antibiotics for clinics in Nepal; Let�s provide access to clean water for Pakistani peasants; Let�s provide opportunities for meaningful and self-supporting jobs for villagers in India so they needn�t send their children into sweatshops or brothels; Let�s inoculate children against cholera and typhoid in Angola; Let�s construct livable, dignified housing for refugees or the homeless in Gaza, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Turkey and the many other places people must live without adequate housing due to war, famine, or natural disaster; Let�s provide catalytic converters to clean the air in Mexican cities; Let�s help small-scale coffee farmers in Kenya find alternative markets; Let�s make free HIV-AIDS medicine, care, and education readily available in Zaire.

We might even try some of this in, yes, Afghanistan.

Imagine how quickly bin Laden would be brought to justice if many of the root causes of terrorism � hopelessness, poverty, repression � were resolved. And imagine how many would-be terrorists, for generations to come, would never terrorize if this alternative was the way of our retribution, our healing, our hearts.

Snyder, Fargo, can be reached at [email protected]

If you have an opinion, on anythign written in this journal feel free to discuss with me or amonst your selves in my Forum. Just don't expect me to change my opinions. I love to hear what others think however and am always up for a good friendly discussion.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads