Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

I Love You Enough to say NO

01.01.02 @ 19:33
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

The following is one of my favorite Erma Bombeck essays. Strangely I loved reading her books and columns long before I had kids or any clue as to what parenthood was like.

"You Don't Love Me"

How many times have your kids laid that one on you?
And how many times have you, as a parent,
resisted the urge to tell them how much?

Someday, when my children are old enough
to understand the logic that motivates a mother,
I'LL TELL THEM ........

I loved you enough to bug you about
where you were going,
with whom,
and what time you would be home.

I loved you enough to insist you buy a bike
with your own money
that we could afford and you couldn't.

I loved you enough to be silent
and let you discover
your hand-picked friend was a creep.

I loved you enough to make you return
a Milky Way with a bite out of it
to a drugstore and confess,
"I stole this."

I loved you enough to stand over you for two hours
while you cleaned your bedroom,
a job that would have taken me
fifteen minutes.

I loved you enough to say,
"Yes, you can go to Disney World
on Mother's Day." I loved you enough to let you see
anger, disappointment, disgust and tears
in my eyes.

I loved you enough not to make excuses
for your lack of respect
or your bad manners.

I loved you enough to admit
that I was wrong and
ask your forgiveness.

I loved you enough to ignore
"what every other mother" did or said.

I loved you enough to let you
stumble, fall, hurt and fail.

I loved you enough to let you assume
the responsibility for your own actions,
at six, ten or sixteen.

I loved you enough to figure you would
lie about the party being chaperoned,
but forgave you for it ....
after discovering I was right.

I loved you enough to
shove you off my lap,
let go of your hand,
be mute to your pleas ...
so that you had to stand alone.

I loved you enough
to accept you for what you are,
not what I wanted you to be.

But most of all,
I loved you enough to say NO when you hated me for it.

THAT WAS THE HARDEST PART OF ALL.

Taken from "If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, What am I Doing in the Pits" by Erma Bombeck

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads