Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Movie List and Childrearing

2001-07-24 @ 10:11 p.m.
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Wow two entries in one week, quick someone check my temperature I must be sick.. okay maybe not really unless one can really die of terminal boredom.. Work has been soooo slow lately.. but I shouldnt' say anything less that old jinx monster decide to spite me.. We finally hired some more new people. Now we have more techs than places to put them... and another female yayy.. now its not just Me Stacy and Stephanie any more.. not that that is a bad thing but we need more females in the tech world.


Its amazing now that the house is at its cleanest I actually feel more motivated to clean.. I guess when it was a mess I felt like why bother, it was so overwhelming that I felt like sponge in the ocean... where do I start..Now it is so neat and nice.. I go over board trying to keep it that way.. I even lost it a little when I found my son and his friend Andrew using my pitcher and my bowl and a good spoon to make some mud creation.. I didnt get too upset, but would it kill them to ask first and not use the good stuff. Okay yes it does wash , but *sigh... Its amazing how much easier it is to do things around here now..


only 3 more days till Planet of the Apes.. I can't wait. Even though I have to .. darn finances... I dont' have the money to see it on opening night. POO!!!.. but I will see it soon.. I can't wait.. I loved the original.. I hope they do it justice. What I've seen of it so far I like.. Yes I am not a traditional steriotypical female.. I am a SWC... I love Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci Fi.. and if there is romance thrown into that mixture even better.. But with a few exceptions I just dont 'go for "chick flicks" as they are so annoyingly called because Hollywood thinks all women want sappy victim of the week movies, or long talky films.. blech.. Give me a fast plot.. I have dont' need too much reality in my fantasy.. Oh sure there are some "girl" movies I like, but most bore me to tears. I have tried to watch When Harry Met Sally at least 5 or 6 times and have yet to make it past the Orgasm n the diner scene with out falling asleep only to wake up when all four of them are on the phone .. (It must be Carries (aka Princess Leia) voice that does it.. its eerie I swear).. My top movies would have to include in no particular order and by NO means inclusive:

1.The Empire Strikes Back

2.The Return of the Jedi

3.A New Hope and The Phantom Menace

4. Star Trek Movies

5. Romancing the Stone and Jewel of the Nile (who says I dont have a feminine side.. MD yummmy yummy!!)

6. All Indianna Jones movies

7. M*A*S*H (Yes folks it was a movie before it became a tv series..and yes the theme song does have words)

8.A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (not as good as the book, but okay)

9. The Leathal Weapon movie (Mel Gibson blowing things up what more can I ask for)

10. Max Max and Road Warrier (see above)

11. Alien and Aliens (beyond those two no comment)

12.Shrek

13. Toy Story and Toy Story 2

14. Terminator and Terminator 2.. (Man I wish I had Linda Hamiltons bode, or even her money then I could buy the bod LOL)

and ohers I can't think of right now..


Thank you Alternamommy for your wonderful comments.. and for adding me.. I feel so honored.. Its nice to know others share my opinion.. I thought I would put my son in daycare when I was pregnant. Then they handed him to me, and wild horses couldnt' drag him away.. I dont understand people who want the best for their kids so they pay someone else to raise them.. I mean whats the point.. yes if they are older it is differnt, but a baby needs consistant loving care, not to be passed around like a trophy.. I stayed home 24 7 with my son till he was 1.. then instead of daycare his father (my x) and I worked rotating shifts so Warren could be with one of us.. When he got older near pre school age then I started with daycare adn pre school.. Now he goes to an afterschool program because I have to choose to either work or sell the house and go on welfare.. and what would that teach my son.. I've been there and I worked my A** off to get where I am today.. I refuse to go back.. Of course I am just as against bottles.. except in extenuating circumstances.. most of the time its just because it is easier for the mother she doenst have to be as tied to the child and can have more freedom.. I found breast was easier..no mixing no heating no stumbling in the dark never too weak or two strong, and best of all 100% FREE!!! with the fringe benifit of immunity allergy prevention and all that bonding... I am proud to say that in his intire career as an infant my son only had 1 bottle to my knowledge. It was not alwasy easy or convient, but parenthood isnt about whats easist for me, its about whats best for the child..Of course when people hear that my son nursed well past his 2nd (okay 3rd) birthday they look at me like I am from some freak planet.. Sorry I just value that time with my son.. by the last year or more it was only a bed time thing anyway.. the rest of the time he was on regualar food.. I am also a supporter of family bed.. My son has his OWN room (two if you count the play room) and his own bed etc.. but if he is having a bad night , crawling in bed with me is not going to warp him.,. it lets him know that mommy is here and will comfort him when the monsters coem out to play.. and when they are really little they need mommy (and daddy)to be dependable and a source of comfort. There is plenty of time to grow up later.. they grow up too fast today as it is.. I look back on my youth adn then look at Warren and just shudder.. I felt so grownup as a teenager, but now when I look at my little boy (only 8) I realize just how young young is.. I guess beinga parent makes one understand your own parents a whole lot more.. a WHOLE LOT more.. (well at least for those of us who were lucky to have good loving , if imperfect adh human, parents.)


Heather called and rescheduled It was her mixup and not mine. I feel so relieved.. I have Cable one an others taken care of .. and I may be eligible for mortgage couciling.. my God does this mean the light at the end of the tunnel may shine again.. what a thought.. I need to call OCWEN soon to get a payjment but hey.. as the song says (or the tv show.. LOL) ONE DAY AT A TIME (its all I can handle).


Off to check my email, and then hit the hay. I finally found where FX moved my M*A*S*H. Now if it was just back in the am again.. BH 90210. bah humbug!!

The Cranky One

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads