Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

What I have learned from Warren

16.01.03 @ 16:56
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Things I've learned from having a kid like Warren
  1. Pick your battles. Somethings just are not worth the energy of getting upset over. Saver your anger for the things that are worth getting upset over.
  2. Matching socks, are not all they are cracked up to be
  3. Putting all your eggs in one basket can be very messy, if they happen to break.
  4. Time is divided up in to 24 hour days, with half of it as night/sleep time, because that is often about the maximum many of us can handle.
  5. Don't judge a parent by the kids behaviour, you may not know the whole story.
  6. Conversely, don't judge kids by the parents. The kids are not responsible for mom and dad.
  7. Each day is a new day, don't keep reliving the old ones or you will never move ahead.
  8. A neat house is a sign of too much free time. Messes are not fatal.
  9. A long walk or a bike ride, makes a great antideppressant. Its free and the side effects are quite positive.
  10. No matter how much you may wish otherwise, you can not make other people do what you want. They would like you to do things there way, as much you want them to do things your way.
  11. Listen more than talk
  12. Lighten up, or be crushed by your own emotions.
  13. Life is short, live it daily. Be in the moment, not yesterday or tommorrow. One is gone and can not be changed, the other will always be a day away.
  14. Yoda was right. Anger leads to the dark side, not because of being angry, but because of the things people do out of anger.
  15. Anger can be used positively as well, if you are able to focus and let go.
  16. Always make time for something enjoyable.
  17. Never be too busy, angry, tired, whatever to snuggle. Kids grow up way too damn fast. You may be eager to get past those precious early years and out of diapers, but someday you will miss those simpler times.
  18. Yelling is as hard on the ears and the psyche as it is on the throat.
  19. Laughter, its a good thing.
  20. Even when you don't feel like it, do like Nike says and just DO IT.
  21. rewarding good behaviour, often works better than punishing bad, though sometimes the latter is necessary as all actions have consequences.
  22. Sometimes rescuing kids is not doing them a favor, it is setting them up for failure. Let them fail. Failure is part of life. Even when fails sometimes, better to learn how to cope young while still in the safety of mom and dad's house, then in the real world, where the conseqences of not dealing can be a lot more severe.
  23. Admitting when you are wrong can be one of the hardest things ever, but it is good for you. Kind of like those rotten veggies you mom makes you eat.
  24. Never assume your loved ones know how you feel. They aren't psychic (usually)
  25. Emotions are like Shook up soda, if they aren't able to get out, they can explode.
  26. Having kids that are different, is a challange, but in the end its worth it. I know longer sit back and smugly judge, as I am on the other side now, and have learned that until you have walked a mile in someone else's shoes, you have no business judging them.
Its been a roller coaster ride of a week. My mom is here, so I can't get on line much. Warren also needs me. Work still sucks. I have my schedule all mixed up so I missed when I should have been there, and showed up when I could ahve stayed home.

I also recenty signed up with the Federation of Family's for children's mental health. I am hoping it will help, to meet others who are in my shoes. Parents of "normal" children just don't understand. More displine will not make him okay. That is not the issue, nor does he get to do what ever he wants. I have just learned something are not worth going to WWIII for.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads