Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Very Weird Dreams
Clonidine day 3

04.04.02 @ 10:26
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Alpha-2 Agonists
Clonidine (Catapres),a drug known as an alpha-2 agonist and is used for Tourette's syndrome and hypertension. The drug stimulates the neurotransmitter norepinephrine, which appears to be important for concentration. Clonidine may be beneficial when other drugs have failed for ADHD children with tics or whose primary symptoms are severe impulsivity and aggression. A similar drug, guanfacine (Tenex), also improves symptoms in ADHD children and may cause less drowsiness than clonidine.

Side Effects. The drug has a number of side effects. Sedation is the most common. A clonidine skin patch, which gradually releases the medication, helps reduce the sedative effect. Few major studies have been conducted on its efficacy in ADHD children, however. Of particular concern in this regard is an increase in prescriptions of clonidine for preschoolers with ADHD.

Because clonidine slows the heart down, it can have adverse effects in some children. Going off too quickly or missing doses can cause rapid heartbeats and other symptoms that may lead to severe problems. Of concern are reports of adverse effects, including five deaths, in children taking the drug in combination with other medications. Experts strongly recommend that no child be given this medication without a preliminary examination of heart problems, and no child with existing heart, kidney, or circulatory problems should take it.

taken from Web MD

I found the above information by running a search for Clonidine on the Web MD web site. Some of the information is scary. Just when I thought we had found an answer. I wonder if the patch has as many effects. Now I am really worried. Warren's heart etc, are fine, but still. There is a definate family history, and yes I am a paranoid mother. Sue me.

Warren did have a good morning more or less today. He was a little grouchy, but for the most part it was a good morning. I on the other hand was less than thrilled at getting up today. Last night I had one of those intense and too real dreams. The kind where you wake up and are actually suprised (and glad) to discover that it was only a dream and you are really still just in your bed at home and all is more or less well.

It was really weird. It started out with me working at this pre-school. Except that the kids were almost more like miniaure versions of adults instead of real kids. For some reason I was leading a story time type of activiity, only instead of a kids book like one would expect I was going thru some kind of magazine (LHJ type or something) with them and talking about pictures. Then I come to this page with two page spread of pictures of helicopters. I ask the kids who wants to count the helicopters, and the one that I call, happens to be a mini version of a guy I graduated high school with , who I havent' seen since his dad was auctioneer at my dad's estate auction almost 6 year ago. I had a crush on him in high school, but he is now married with two daughters and works at a radio station in Montana. For reference lets just call him Grant. While Grant is up counting the helicopters, two police walk into the school, suddenly it is just me and Grant and the other kids some how are gone. The cops are here to arrest us, and now instead of a mini adult Grant is a full version of an actual grown up, like I would imagine him to look, only a little more like I remember him in high school. But instead of arresting us like a cop normally would they just tell us we have to come with them and then we all start walking out of the pre-school and enter what is like some sort of garage except that everything is in orange. We are standing on this orange metal grate like floor and are climbing in the cop SUV, just like no big deal, except that inside I am scared as hell. I get in and I am talking to the cop. I ask if this is about the money I sitll owe. He says yes. I said its only $30. The the cop guys says it is a lot more now, and I can't just pay for it. I will have to pay much more and go to court. Then we get to the "jail" I am freaking out, and panicking about work and suddenly I remember Warren and start really getting panicy about who will take care of him, and about losing my job, because I have some "project" I have to work on tommorrow. (I don't). Then I woke up breathing heavy and sat bolt upright. It took me several minutes to "come to" and realize that it was all just a dream and I was home and it was only 5:30 am. It took me almost 20 minutes to calm back down adn go to sleep. I tell you my subconscience is really wierd sometimes. Very very strange. I am still feeling rather uneasy about it.

I am also upset about someother things, here online, but I am going to wait to voice my opinion because I have a feeling my emotions from last nights dream are affecting my mood and clouding my judgement and my reaction. When I have calmed down a bit I will write about certain review sites, and things that I shouldn't be penalized for because they are" beyond my control".

TTFN

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads