Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Maroon Memories

Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2008 @ 6:47 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I love a school with openminded and reasonable staff. I went in with Warren on Tuesday to fix his schedule. I didn't even have to hardly open my mouth. Warren did most of the talking and the staff (okay two people, the school councelor and his IEP person) were in agreement with me. They didn't have much info since he was in a different school system and were going by older info and what most of his other kids need. IT was fixed that day. (whew). R* (IEP) had also been in some classes with Warren (he 'has' many kids, so he comes in and out of different classes to offer help if needed) and saw that Warren was ahead of the pack in Alegebra I on the first day.

Warren really seems to like him. He's a very friendly and open guy, who also happens to be a biker (think Harley) in his free time. I think they will get a long quite well. Warren says he looks funny in a suit, he looks like he belongs in biker gear with a doo rag. ehhehe

I'm so proud of how he's been doing this week. I only hope he can keep it up when things really kick in. He's been going to be early and getting up early to do his homework. I haven't had to fight to get him up, he's gotten me up once. He has a few friends, but still complains that this school seems so much more cliquey then when he was at "different school district" middle school, where the kids were much more open and friendly to the new kid. I've told him to just continue to be his friendly open and personalble self. Not everyone is stuck up and cliquey and he's not the only "new" kid.

I may learn to stop hovering this year yet. Strange how having a kid in high school brings up so many of my own memories of high school. Mostly good, but some not so much.

There are both advantages and disadvantages to growing up in a small town. To give you and idea the student body of my entire high school was around 200 or so kids, give or take, and many of them were bused in 10, 20, or 30 miles each way. Warren's class is well over 400.

Its nice that everybody knows each other, but on the other hand, everybody KNOWS each other. Most of my class had been friends since before kindergarten. No secrets, no changing and joining a different group, and gossip was around the school faster than the internet ever dreamed.

Having individual attention is nice, but when your teacher went to high school with your father, or happens to be a nieghbor closeness gets to be too much.

Don't get me wrong. I am glad I had a small town upbringing and values. I think I am one who would have been lost in a large group, as shy as I was. But looking back, there is something to be said for a certain amount of ananimity.

I just need to stopping looking at Warren thru my own teen filter. He's a totally different kid, with a good head on his shoulders, he's much more outspoken (too much at times) and will do fine in time. Especially if he gets over this damn sinus allergy thing.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads