Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Mud and bread, oh my

Sunday, Apr. 27, 2008 @ 7:51 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Gotta love Mother Nature. ITs amazing how something that lookes like you dug it up from the garden after a rain {or in the case of henna, found it in a baby's diaper} can do so much wonder for the body and spirit.

After a rather stressful week {to put it mildly} I decided to treat myself last night. I had picked up a box of henna hair color from Tochi quite a while ago, but never got around to doing it. Last night I made up my mind to get it done.

While it is a rather messy way to do a color job, I must say I am quite impressed. I love my color, I love my soft hair, and I love that I don't smell like a salon. In fact it has practically no smell at all. It looked like dark curry colored mud going on, but my hair is now a lovely golden chestunut color with coppery golden highlights on my grayish areas.

Since I was playing with dirt anyway. I decided to go full force and whip up the mud mask I bought at Tochi on a whim. It actually felt kind of good slathering mud {fancy French mud at that} on my face. Kind of a return to early childhood. But I liked the way my face felt afterwards. Nice and smooth and soft and no redness, like with the usual drugstore treatments. My forehead is oily again this morning, but I'm not all red and blotchy. And its cheaper too.

Apparently the universe decided it was time for a little kindness to me yesterday. Among my errands I made a run to my All TIME FAVORITE bread store, Great Harvest {they make the best everything}. I picked up a couple loaves of bread, a honey whole wheat and a breakfast break {superior for French Toast}.

Bread Lady {I do so wish I knew her real name}, is always such a nice treat to deal with. She gave me the usual huge sample {they always have great samples} and while I was asking her about a couple other breads, she suddenly decides that since they have too much bread, which they will only give to Daily Bread {local food bank}, as they aren't open Sundays, and it will be too stale to sell Monday, that she might as well give it to someone who enjoys it.

Next thing I know I'm walking out with about 30 bucks in breads, cookies, muffins etc.. My freezer is packed. I only spent 11 dollars, but I hit the motherload. I was just flabbergasted. I didn't know what to think. I would have loved more, but I was so afraid of sounding greedy. I just thanked her profusly and went home, absolutely floating above cloud 12. Money is rather tight these days, I in the name of my weight and health I've been spending a little bit much on food. {is it any wonder poor people by ramen instead of veggies, even though one only appears to be a better deal. Don't get me started}.

Such kindness. I have to pay it foreward to someone else. Bread Lady has no idea how generous she was that day. She really restored my faith in humanity. There are saints amoung us. It was like the universe sent me there on purpose that day. I didn't really need bread, I had a loaf in the freezer but something made me go. I've got some good karma points, I really need to share with someone.

Great Harvest will definately be my bread store from now on.

Oops.. gotta take a quick shower and go get Warren. Looking forward to a day with my favorite too tall redhead.

Have a great Sunday.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads