Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

BOO.

Friday, Oct. 26, 2007 @ 6:50 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

It's amazing sometimes how a little things can mean so much to somebody, and sometimes the person behind the little thing doesn't even know what a difference they made.


As you can tell by my previous entry, I've come down with another case of the "poor mes". I miss my son and was feeling kind of sorry for myself. {But I'm much better now}. I have also been feeling kind of run down lately. Not really sick, just kind of achey, tired, unmotivated. I guess you could call it a touch of burnout. Less physically tired, more mentally exhausted, symtomized physically.


Before I go much further, I should mention that I am lucky to work for a company that has way to much fun with Halloween. Its almost as big as Christmas.


I went to work even though I really wanted to just stay home under the covers. I wasn't sick enough to justify a sick day, and I needed the money so off I went anyway.


Imagine my surpised when I came back from my break to find out I'd been BOOed. What doesBOOed. mean you ask.


Leave it to the people I work with to take the Secret Santa concept and Halloweenize it. I came to my desk to find a lovely box of almond crackers and bag of lovely gorgeous apples. Along with a cute poem and a picture of ghost with the word BOO on it, to hang on my cube, indicating I'd been BOOed.

According to the poem I had 24 hours to make two copies each of the poem and the ghost and to pass it on to two more coworkers, who would do ditto, and so on until {hopefully} everyone, or almost everyone gets BOOed.


So of course, I had to stop at the Dollar Store on the way home, as this Ghost, is a bit short in the sheets right now. Thankfully I am a gifted discunt shopper and was able to find two lovely candles, and two cute magnetic note pads {like for grocery lists etc} and a bag of starlight mints {I am helplessy addicted to peppermint}. All for five bucks and some change. I had some homemade cookies at home, so I tossed in a couple of those.


I was able to get two people. One of whom was apparently off today, but will hopefully be back on Monday. The other one was thrilled and I managed to BOO her right behind her back while she was a few feet away, talking to another cooworker in her office. Sadly I did get busted later, when she saw me taping the sign at the second cooworkers desk. But she loved the gifts.


Being thought of {and I have a very good idea who BOOed me, was really uplifting. It made me feel really good the rest of the day. Nothing changed, but a small gesture {the person clearly knew what I liked}, made me feel valued.


Shopping to do something sweet for two other people was even more uplifting. Doing something for somebody else and not thinking of myself {or my own troubles}, made the biggest difference of all. Its was just a small gesture, a fun office bonding idea, but there is a very strong truth in the whole pay if foreward idea.


One of the best ways to make your self feel better is to do something nice for someone else with no anticipation of getting something in return. Though a thank you, and I really liked it sure felt great.


I've been stuck insde myself for so long, I forgot how nice it is to do soemthing nice for someone else and think of somebody not me {or my son}.


I think we all need to be BOOed a little more often and pass the BOO on.

Simple little gestures of kindness make the world {to say nothing of the workplace} a much nicer place to have to be in.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads