Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Ahhhh {Yes I do drink on occasion}

Friday, Sept. 07, 2007 @ 10:10 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com




Madeline L'Engle 1918-2007


Another great author has left the world. I used to love the Wrinkle in Time books. I remember reading them to Warren, next to Harry Potter and Jabberwocky {He is his mother's son after all} they were his favorite books.Everytime I think of them it brings back memories of putting him to bed when he was little and still wanted mom to tuck him in and read to him {He kill me for telling you this, but sometimes he still likes me to tuck him in and read to him. but shhh I didn't tell you that. He's 14 and got a rep to protect you know}


Like me he's always loved a fantasy that is as much of the mind as it is of the physical.


I didn't realize she was 88, for some reason I always thought she was younger than that. I guess the books were written earlier than I had thought. {IWhich makes her also a ground breaker as fantasy and scifi have a underserved reputation for being a male genre, which couldn't be farther from the truth.


She will live on forever in the hearts and minds of kids {to say nothing of kids at heart} forever.


Thank God for Fridays, even if I still have to work for tommorrow, I dont' have to be in until 9am.


Having worked my ass off the last three days alternating between BodyPUMP {cardio/ressitance with barbells} and CardioAM {a step class that nearly killed me, so of course I'm going back a few weeks of that and I'll have a body that will my the Idiot faint teehee. And wearing those little skinny jeans is great motivation as well.}. However this kicking it up a few notches {from aqua aerobics which was good, but not much of a challange and too slow for me}, to something where I have to exert every bit of stamina I have to keep up, has played havoc on my body.


I've been feeling pain in muscles I never new existed. When I stand for a while I'm fine, sitting or laying down I'm fine, its the getting up and downw that is killing me. Don't ask about doing stairs, I really don't want to go there. I went from spry and active to feeling like a 90 year old bull rider. My quads are killing me. I dont' think I've ever felt this kind of pain before. Oddly its sort of a good kind of hurt, it means I'm getting stronger and more toned {eventually}. It means my muscles are really getting it all.


Oh and that whole endorphins and adreneline killing pain and giving you a rush, it is totally true once you reach a certain point. I never felt it before, but now I actually feel alive after I work out. At least for a while.


After work I came home and had bananna blueberry pancakes with chokecherry syrup {I got it at the farmer's market. It was supposed to be jelly, but I think somebody measured the pectin wrong. But it's still quite tasty.


If you don't know what a chokecherry is, than check out this link


I have fond memories of picking chokecherries in our front yard as a kid. Who knew I'd pay good money for something I used to complain about being sick of eating when I was a kid. Too bad they didn't have Juneberry too. Thier even better cause you can eat them right off the bush, chokecherris on the otherhand have the name chokecherries for a reason. They are also as much pit as berry.



After dinner I stretched out my muscles by walking to the video store to return some DVDs {about 2 miles round trip} and get some cash {my bank is next door, atm has no charges if you have an account} and than to the store to mail something, and pick up some metholatum and some Calgon {something needs to take me away}.


On the way home I found myself making a detour in to the liquor store. I don't have much of a budget so I couldnt' splurge on any of the spendy good stuff, but I did walk out with a nice bottle of Alice White. {Why it had a rubber cork, I'm not sure I want to know. I guess I'm just a bit white trashy as I'm used to the screw tops. I have no cork screw, so managed to push the cork in the bottle instead {*blush}.


A warm bath with Epsom salts, candle light and glass of wine does wonders for the spirit {the Calgon smelled heavenly. I feel relaxed and peaceful It's probably the wine but I'll take it. Its not like I'm planning to drive anywhere for at least 10 hours. Of course the dark chocolate with the little bits of crystalized ginger probably helped as well. {I only had about 3 little squares, but that's plenty when its the good stuff}.


|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads