Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Still churning on.

Wednesday, Jul. 04, 2007 @ 1:03 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I've been tagged by Chaos. So I'm checking in at my local coffee shop, while HAL is still in the hospital.

Write 8 unuusal fact or habits about yourself and tag 8 people.

1. I am not able to do a thumbs up or even have much control over my left thumb. About 11 years ago, I was getting something down from a high shelf for Warren {who was about 3 at the time}. I made the mistake of standing on a rocking chair. I leaned foreward, the chair went backward. My hand reached out to catch me and my wrist was toast. I was home alone with Warren and it was bed time. I wrapped my arm with frozen peas, read to Warren and tucked him in. and waited 3 hours for the idiot to get home. I than drove myself to the ER, in a car where the driver door only opened from the inside. I had to pick up my x rays the next day and drive myself again to the orthopedist. Amazingly the pain didn't kick in for two days, and I had to call and beg the doc to give me something. It never healed right and my wrist is still bent funny and my thumb while it has complete feeling, has no control.

2. I hate hate hate bananas all my life. Not a dislike as most of us have of some foods, but an intense intoleration bordering on fear. The mere smell makes me sick to my stomach. Once upon a tiem you could practically chase me with one. The last year and a half or so I've been working on my issues.While I'll never be able to eat one alone, I can now eat them in other foods, evne smoothies if I cover them up with enough other fruit. I've bought them for my son for years and baked for him with them, but I'd always be gagging hte whole time. Now I've almost stopped the gagg reflex.

3. Every bone I've ever broken or every major injury I've had has been on the left side of my body, including big toe, ankle, wrist and pointer finger {all at vastly different times). including breaks, sprains, twists and major cuts.

4. I have a phobia of deep water. a very specific phobia. I can do a basic swim stroke. I love pools, baths and hottubs, but if I can not touch bottom I will completley freak out. Even standing near the deep end to watch my son dive makes me extrememely nervous. I held my son back from diving when he was probably ready because of my fear. He can swim like a dolphin but I get very nervous when he does. I've almost drown twice, onces when I overestimated my abilities and once when somebody pushed me in unexpectedly. I've been freaked ever since. The thought of taking a boat or a plane over any large body of water, much less the ocean would probably induce a full fledged panic attack, even though I've been out on canoes and boats many times, I could never really enjoy it as I was too keyed up, worrying about drowning.

5. Despite being raised very Catholic, I developed a very love hate relationsip with "the Church" and have completely left it as I can't stomach most of what they stand for. I've actaully joined unofficially the Unitarians as I don't see there being one right path, but many roads that lead to the same destination, to the same goal. Yet when ever I go home I play the good little Catholic girl to keep my mom and her family happy.

6. I have a bizarre fondness for symettry. When I am decorating or organzing I always have to try and make both sides match whenever possible. When things aren't symettrical it bugs me.

7. I'm from a farming community and grew up knowing my meals by name. Yet I've (for the 2nd and hopefully last time) embraced a veggie lifestyle that raises more than a few eyebrows if I bring it up, which I rarely do. But finding vegetarian meals when you eat out in ND, is not easy, unless you love iceburg lettuce and sad little tomatos. God bless Asian and Indian restaurants for having veggie quisine that is tasty and healthy with a wide variety. I used to be a very fussy eater, (hard to belive given my weight, but I ate a lotof what I did like) now I've finally widened my pallette to where I'll try almost anything at least once. ANd have discovered there are a lot of great flavors out there, when your pallette isn't messed up by too much sugar, salt and fake stuff.

8. Its still a family joke, thanks to my dad repeating it so many times, but apparently the first time I was handed a doll, instead of cuddling it, and hugging it like most little girls, I ripped it appart limb from limb, and undressed it. Fortunately for Warren's sake my mothering skills have greatly improved.

I'm not big on tagging people, so if you havne't done it, and you want to do it, consider yourself tagged and have fun.

BTW, if you are going to take your dog with you in this weather for the love of god have some water in the car and leave the windows open when you "run in real quick". A car can get dangerously hot in a very short time even in the 70's and 80's. I almost called the cops on some lady at the laundromat who's dog was panting fiercly in a closed up car, with no water in site. Lucky for her she came out and took care of the situation, or I would have reported her. I had her plates and everything. And even better idea? Leave the dogs at home, they are much safer there, and unless they are "working" dogs, they can' go in most people places anyway.

It looks like I also have some good news re: Warren. IF all goes well we have a place for him, at an all boys acadamy, though it is in Iowa. Its a 4-6 month program and it sounds great. Now I just have to pack a big suitcase and complete a 6 inch {I kid only slightly} stack of paperwork and documentation. Good thing I already have relatives near Des Moines, so Iowa isn't totally unfamiliar to me,

Wish us luck

Have a happy and SAFE Independence day to all my fellow Americans. And Happy Belated Canada day to all the neighbors up north.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads