Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

14 years ago

Tuesday, Jun. 19, 2007 @ 9:06 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Ahh the joys and miserys of womanhood. This morning I woke up with all the classic signs of a damn UTI {urinary tract infection}. Nothing makes work fun, like peeing every 20 minutes, or at least feeling like you have to.

Of course that meant going to the clinic and spending an hour plus in waiting room chairs for 20 minutes of attention to find out proof of what I already know. My urine was so dilute they weren't sure if I had one or not, though I did have white blood cells. Fortunately I've been down this road many times. So I knew the symptoms quite well. Luckily the doctor ws a good one, so i have three days of antibiotics, and some pain pills that will turn my pee orange. {cool}.

Its been several years since I've had one. I wonder if the pool could have anything to do with it. I drink tons of water, eat extremely healthy {80 percent of the time}, and wipe front to back. who knows.

Its kind of ironic that the worst bladder/kidney infection I had was 14 years ago. I was 6 months pregnant with the now teenager and my uti managed to progress to my kidneys, while I flu virus decided to hitch along for the tun. I wound up in the hospital for a week, on IV fluids and drugs. I was so dehydrated when they admitted me, I had reached the point where I couldn't even keep water down. I had my one and thankfully ONLY catheter. Not an experience I ever care to repeat.

I remember it also because some cardioogist with bad handwriting mistook my room for someone elses and started talking to me about heart issues in a down syndrome baby. I freaked, until he quickly realized thru our convesation that I was the wrong mother. I still wonder about that other mother and if things went well with her baby. I sure hope so.

I think I am probably the only woman I know who lost weight by becomming pregnant, but continous round the clock all day morning sickness will do that to you.

On the other hand a constant craving for milk and eggs, does have its benifits. Warren waas born long skinny and solid muscle, or at least it seemed that way.

It was 14 years ago tonight I went to sleep a single free woman and woke up the next moring at 5 am, with the not so gently stab of labor pains, that reminded me an awful lot of being ran thru a ringer. Who was I to know I hadn't seen anything yet.

I quickly realized that my child {who at this point I was still convinced was a gril} was gearing up to make his appearance. I hadn't ever done this before so I got ready to head for the hospital.

I tried to wake the Idiot {than still called Mike}, but he was out, like a broken lightbulb {exhaustaion plus beer does have that effect} and would have been useless. So I did what any woman would do. I got my bag packed, climbed in my car and drove to the hospital. I was so out of it, when later asked where my car was, I had no idea other than it was in the garage. I think I sent them to the wrong space on the wrong level.

I was quickly checked into the maternity ward, where my labor was decidedly sped along thanks to haveing my water broke manually. That upped the ante in a hurry.

This was about 6 amish in the morning. Things didn't get better anytime soon. So while I was still functional, I started making phone calls. Lots of phone calls, my parents {who were practically in the car and half way to Fargo before I could finish}, my friends {who thought it was funny to get q call from someone in labor}, my employers {I had two jobs, ironically one of them was with the company i currently work for, but didn't for almost 10 years after I had Warren}. Eventually I also got a hold of the idiot to inform him his child ws on the way. He called his work, than went intto finish some "project" and ended up getting to the hospital in time to see Warren being rolled into the nursery.

I discovered not much can help with the pain of labor. Even IV demerol doesn't dull the pain, so much as put your mind where you dont' care. It was at this point I also discovered taht putting bubble bath ina jacuzzi tub, is a very bad and messy idea.

Finally about 3pm, Warren decided it was time to start his grand entrance. I can't really compare it to other labors, since he was my only, but it was sure fast. One minute they are telling me to push and get ready, by 3:23 pm I was informed I had a boy.

I had no boy names. Great.. My kid has no name... "so do you have a name".. umm

I took one look at my new little boy with the red peach fuzzy head and the first thing that came out of my mouth, was 'Hello Warren Michael". I am not sure why I picked that name, thouigh I know it came from my countless hours of watching Santa Barbara when I was sick during my pregnancy.

I guess the name must have just been in my subconsciousness. Michael was his father's name. His family always gives the son the fathers first name as a middle name, so I guess it makes sense. I had made lists and lists of girl names, thinking and trying. I had a boy and put together his name in 2 seconds.

Of course everyone couldn't help but notice he was a red head, however fuzzy. Since I am a dark blonde/light brown and Mike was a dishwater blonde {now closer to bald}, the inevitable mail man jokes, and where does that red hair come from comments adn jokes started almost right away. It seems like it was the first thing people noticed about him. than they noticed how long and skinny he was. He was all legs. Mike used to joke, that when Warren wore is green pajama's he was like a little froggy. He is still all legs.

My 7 pound 4.25 ounce, 19.5 inch baby boy. The same baby who is now almost 6 feet tall and weighs over 200 pounds. Who now has a fuzzy face and caterpiller on his lip that match the fuzz he was born with on his head.

Mike showed up after all the hard work was done, but to his credit he went out afterwards and bought me watermelon {the hospital cafeteria let me pick whatever I wanted , so they brought me some too}, and a magazine. He also slept in the hospital with me the first two nights. he also got to hold Warren before me, because I was hemmoraging bad enough afterwards, they took WArren to go get him cleaned up while they took care of me. To this day I regret that. But take comfort in the fact, it didn't sotp us from bonding.

After that I spent the next three or so days attempting to learn how to breast feed and get by sleepign in two to four hour shifts, something that would soon seem like a luxery, when I got my little opionated one home. Warren it seems was born ready to tell the world what he thought. Stubborn from the onset. He would sleep for 15 minutes at a time, unless I was holding him, than he would sleep for hours. IF I tried to put him down he would scream bloody murder. I learned to co-sleep for my sanity's sake, though Mike was always so paranoid I would drop him or roll over on him. {whatever}. It wasn't until he was almost 3 months old I realized he would sleep fine on his belly, but on his back or side, would scream. I ended up violating all sids advice to get some sleep. Kind of funny that even today, he prefers to sleep on his belly.

this is the same kid who could pull up at 6 months cruise around 7 - 8 months and by 10 months was walking/running like he'd been doing it since birth. His early years seemed almost like he was frustrated that his body wouldn't let him move and get up like he wanted to. He can walk and move fine now, but his attitude still hasnt' changed.

IT will be 14 years ago tommorrow afternoon, that I got to become his mother.

I4 years since I learned what life is really all about, and got a crash course in growing up.

I wish things were better, but whatever happens, he is my baby boy.. He is taller, heavier and much stronger than I am, but he is still my baby. I am still wrapping my head around how much he has grown.

Sometimes I look at him and I am amazed that this man in the making is my son. Can this really be my baby, the little boy I used to nurse and rock to sleep, the one who wanted me to read Dr. Suess so many times I started talking in rhymes. The little 3 year old who loved to collect rocks, who actually thought I really could blow away the Ouchies.

He's been replaced with somebody, larger than me, with a voice that sounds exactly like his fathers, who still has a wicked brilliant sense of humor, and who was blessed with mechanical abilites I will never have. But in my heart he will always be my little baby boy.

This has nothing to do wtih Warren, but I wanted to share. I am down another 2 pounds finally. I'm at 171 as of this moring. Go me.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads