Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

I try to answer a simple quiestion and I write a bloody book.

Sunday, Jan. 07, 2007 @ 12:35 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

One of these days I'll realize what a truly dangerous place < ahref="http://www.amazon.com" target="new">Amazon is. I just spent $$ money on three books. If I hadn't stopped myself I could have very easily have blown $$$, or even $$$$ were I to be blessed with such a budget.


All I bought was :

Fast Food Nation tie-in: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal (P.S.)"
Eric Schlosser;
I've read parts of this before and I loved the interview with him and Morgan Spurlock on the Super Size Me dvd. It's a real eye opener and makes one want to not eat fast food or buy processed food ever. I've begun to eat very little of it.

"Don't Eat This Book: Fast Food and the Supersizing of America"
Morgan Spurlock;

The movie is also quite an eye opener (Super Size Me). Really makes you think. We know way too little about what we are eating. I havne't eat at Mcdonalds in weeks. I don't think I could anymore.

"Mindless Eating: Why We Eat More Than We Think"
Brian Wansink;

This guy is fascinating. I have read articles on his research and parts of his book. Our eating most often has so little to do with sustanence or hunger, and we are so easily manipulated its not even funny. I urge everyone to read this. If you don't think the large food companies aren't manipulating you, you are so wrong.


Recently somebody asked me what my secret is. I don't really have a secret, I just had an epiphany one day, and gradually over time made several changes as I realized my prevoud life style was killing both Warren and me.


If you would like an idea of some of the changes I've made, I can give you a few.


I am not about 75%-80% vegetarian. I do eat some meat, but very little. Its probably been a month since I've had red meat. I do still eat chicken /turkey 2-4 times a week and fish antother 2-4 times a week. But I don't have dead animal every day. Sometimes I go days with out. And when I do buy meat I look for antibiotic free, if possible free range. Rasing animals in crowded feed lots and wire cages is just gross. Most people have no clue what they are eating, or where it comes from and I find that just sad.
VEggies are our friends, so is fruit. when you get rid of the sugarized crap you recover your tastebuds and discover that real food is so much better and has such better flavor than the over proccesed fake tasting crap.


Only eat whole grains. I on rare ocassion will have a treat made with white flour, I do live in the real world, and while I can eat whole wheat pasta the texture is a bit of an aquired taste. Howevver I have oat meal at least once a day, I only eat 100% whole wheat bread (the fewer the ingredients the better), and I make my own popcorn as the microwave stuff is loaded with salt and all sorts of trans fat and other fake crap. (though Paul newman makes a great healthy brand, when I can find it).


Portion control. I use a salad plate, not a giant dinner plate, I taught myself to meausre a correct portion. Most people eat way more than they think because we've been conned into thinking 1/2 lb of beef or three cups of pasta is a normal serving. It isn't. Check out this link..

What does 200 calories look like. It's quite easy to pack away 3000+ calories in a day with out even trying. A 20ounce bottle of soda is well over 200 calories and at least 1/4 cup or more of sugar. YUCK!! I haven't had soda in almost a year, and I don't miss it. Since I gave it up, my daily migraines have virtually disappeared. I also sleep better.


Ignore the claims on the packaging and the store advertising, they will say whatever they legally can to get you to buy the product. Read the nutrition label and the ingredients. You may be aghast at what you are eating. If you dont' know what something is, look it up. Odds are you dont' want to eat it. (here's a hint, if it says food glaze, there a 90% chance it comes from the shell ofa specific insect I can't think of right now. ITs a beetle I think).


I will not eat antything with high fructose corn syrup or artificial sweetenrs, they mess with your body and actually make you want to eat more. (don't tell me the food companies don't know they, trust me they do). I don't eat anything that had its start in a lab, instead ofa kitchen.


i also refuse to eat transfat. If it says hydrogenated anything on the label, I won't touch it.


I don't buy junk food, execept as an ocassional treat. When I do, I have a small amount of the best quality I can afford and I savor it, instead of slamming it down like a new 21 year old at power hour.


I eat every 3 - 4 hours, I don't let myself get so hungry the furniture starts to look good. (I keep a can of vegetable soup and some soy nuts in my desk drawer in the even of an emergency.

I plan my meals ahead and bring my own lunch. I start my lunch with a large salad, using a naturally low cal dressing.


I also drink anywhere from 2 - 4 liters of water a day, plus green tea, oolong tea, herb tea, and a glass or two of milk.


I try to make most of my fats monounsaturated and I eat very little salt. I guy lots of frozen fruit, frozen blueberries are heaven on earth if you want something cold and sweet.


I probably get 30 -50 grams of fiber a day. I eat nuts, beans and peas, as well as unsalted dry roasted soynuts for protein.


I walk at least 30 -60 minutes per day, and try to do other exercise as well. I try to ride bike whenever the weather will let me.


I've started to use, exercise, blogging, crying, cleaning or other healthy activity to deal with my emotions. I am finally learning that food is not a drug, and does not make a good substitue for antidepressants because I don't want to admit to or deal with my emotions. I eat in front of others and talk about my eating and my habits. I keep a food journal, on paper for my own use, if not online, like I did in the beganing. If I dont' , it is too easy to lie to myself. To stuff myself in private and food myself in to thinking it doesn't count, because it does.


When I screw up (and sooner or later we all screw up, its part of being human, none of us is perfect), I just keep on going. I eat a bit less the next day and walk abit more. I've learned to build my f**ups into my plan.


Forget the word diet, it is an evil word that connotates punishing yourself for a short term and then going back to crap again. Think about healthy choices for life. about weighing the long term consequences vs. the short term benifits. YOu may enjoy that super steak, baked potato with double sour cream and two shots of wine today, but how will your family feel burying you at 65, when you should have had another 20 30 years at least.


experiment with lots of differernt healthy foods to find ones that you like. try different recipes. Only a masochistic fool wants to spend his/her life eating food they hate.


YOur weight is not a measure of charaacter or worth. It is a number and a measure of health, nothing more. Don't judge yourself by the type of day you have had.


Study up on nutrition and basic human pysiology. skip the diet of the week books and learn a little basic nutriton 101, and use some common sense. A healthy diet controls calories and portions,but it also needs to provide a wide variety of nutrients, minerals, antioxidants and probably some things we don't even know about yet. Most of use probably know more about our cars or our computers than we do about our own bodies. It isn't as though we can go to the body shop and trade in for a new one, we get what we get. Learn to make the best of what you got.


Reward yourself all along the way with both tangible and non tangilbe (and non edible) rewards. A massage, a haircut, ad new cd, an hour alone in the bubble bath, your favorite movie, a long walk thru your favorite park, an hour reading your favorite novel, the possiblites are endless. No guilt allowed.


In order to take care of others, you first have to take care of yourself. Picture yourself healthy, but be realisitic. Most people in magazines and on tv spend up wards of 4 - 8 hours aday working on those bodies with personal trainers, private chefs and all day gym workouts. That is not reality. Looking like a 12 year old boy with dd boobs is not realisitc. Real bodies are flawed, imperfect bodies. Thin isn't healthy, healthy is healthy. Having energy, enjoying a meal with out feeling guilty and knowing you are doing the best you can for your body is healthy. Accepting the body you have and doing the best you can for it, that is healthy. Not over feeding, underfeeding and abusing yoruself.


In the words of the almighty and almost immortal YOda:


Do or do not. There is no try


I don't believe it


that is why you fail

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads