Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

No place like home

Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2006 @ 8:55 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Just for yucks, I have to post this pic that a friend of mine posted on another website I frequent.

Create your own caption if you like, though I can't afford any nice prizes at the moment.

The trip back from Williston was pretty uneventful, but memorable. I did get the lovely opportunity to listen to an Amtrack employee give heck to some guy who's daughter apparently admitted to doing something she shouldn't have been doing, and the guy trying to defend his daughter though I have no idea what she did. (judging from his age, she probably weren't no little kid). I love getting bits of other people's lives, though I bet it would be a whole lot more fascinating if I had the whole story.

As usual the snack bar prices on the train made the average movie theatre look cheap. Some guy paid $7.5 for two apple juices and a bag of chips (insert picture of my eyes bugging out). You know prices are outrageous when the employees refer to them as highway robbery. $1.75 for a bag of pretzels I could get at any grocery or C-store for $.75. WTF!?!? Is Amtrack trying to make up lost profits by price gouging on food. If you travel by train for any distance, bring your own food!!

I did however get a great kick out of reading the Kalispell (Montana city near Glacier area), newspaper somebody left on board. The police blotter was quite entertaining as small city police blotters never fail to be.

The person who lost a brand new chainsaw in the middle of 2nd Avenue may claim it by comming to the police station to identify it.

The man who was reported attempting to use a screwdriver to gain entrance to a house on **** Dr (can't remember street name), actaully lives there and had just misplaced his keys

"Be it ever so humble, there is no place like home".

I had a great time at my mom's but I am so glad to be back home. One week at my mom's house and I'm 15 again, and the old patterns of my childhood quickly start to replay, right down to the desire to sit in front of the tv all night and munch. Thankfully I put a kibosh on that quite quickly.

To give you an idea of the state I live in and the size of the town Williston is; While I was waiting for the train a lady came out and started talking to us as if we had known each other for some time. I have never met her.

After getting back to Fargo I shared a cab with a guy I recognized from the bus. Turns out, not only is he from Williston also (I actually grew up 60 miles north),but he lives with in 4 blocks from where I live. We had both gone to Williston about the same time and rode the same train back. There may be 6 degrees of separation between any two people in the rest of the world, but between native NDians, it is more like 2 degrees. Anytime one NoDak meets another one and find out what town he/she is from the next question is almost always, oh do you know so and so?? Its not as common among those of us from the larger cities (Bismarck/Mandan, Grand Forks, Fargo or to some extent Minot) ,but almost all of us have connections to the smaller towns and take any two of us, we probably know someobdy in common, or somebody who knew somebody.

I once freaked out a friend of mine from chicago that I met on a Star Wars board she hosted. She intorduced me to a fellow ND from Washburn, ND. With in five minutes, we discovered that he was good friends with my first cousin and knew my aunt and uncle quite well. She was flabbergasted. We were like, just another day between NoDakians. heheheh.. We are one of the smallest large states in the union.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads