Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Lesson for today

Monday, Nov. 20, 2006 @ 5:16 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I'm feeling a bit better today. My sinus' are still all full of cotton, but I had a somewhat better sleep last night and my son is no longer angry with me, or at least he isn't acting angry.

I may go see the doctor on Tuesday, for my sinus' if they haven't gotten better. Warren has an apt that day anyway. People (customers mainly) have been telling me for weeks that I sound like I have a cold, even before I felt sick. But now I"m getting dry mouth cause I can't breathe thru my nose. Warren is finally getting over his ear infection. I think he may have brought an unwelcome guest home to take up roost in my sinus'.

Since there is no bus on Sunday and I can't afford the ungodly amount of cab fare, I rode my bike to work. The current temp is some where in the low 30's high 20's. I saw ice on standing water. Normally I can walk 3- 4 mph no problem or bike the 7 miles to work with not too much trouble. Today, I made it about 2 miles or a little more and thought I was going to pass out. I had a bottle of water, but was weak so I had a Slim Fast (not my first choice but this was a C store and there weren't alot of healthy choices), which seemed to help. But then I was chilled as I had been sweating, adn when I stopped the moisture helped me get too cool. I managed to make it to work in plenty of time, but I had to stop and walk my bike a few times. I just didn't seem to have any energy. It was like my transmission had been stuck half way between neutral and first gear.

When I got to work I still had plenty of time (have I mentioned my mom managed to instill in me a total ocd about promtness), so I had a bowl of mini wheats with milk and blueberries and two large cups of rose hip tea (excellent source of vitamin c and other antioxidants, also tastes great and yes it comes from real roses one of the richest sources of vitamin c on the planet, full spectrum vitamin c). I am finally warming up and starting to feel les exhausted. I would still much rather be at home, but I guess I'm so important that even though I begged weeks ago to change my schedule so I have Sunday's off, they still can't find someone else to take that shift. Nevermind that Sunday's are usually our deadest day of the week (especially right before a major holiday).

I understand about his curiousity, it is normal at that age. I dont' look under his mattress or go thru his drawers (unless I have strong reason to suspect no good). I believe in some privacy and a right to his opinions. But as his mother I am also responsible for him and it is my job to try and push some kind of values in him.

I don't have a problem with him admiring a good looking woman or having alone time with his fanatsy girl, that is part of being a guy. I never enter his room if the door is closed unless I knock first. I've let him have posters as long as they were pg rated. I just find it harder and harder to draw the line between protecting him and letting him go. My problem wasnt' the pictures so much, they weren't anything you couldn't find in a pg/pg-13/standard cable movie. It was the attitude behind it and some of the headlines on the front.

He doesn't want to hide it, or stash it like one would expect a teenage boy to do. He wants to be open about it, and wants me to accept it. OY VaY (and I'm not even Jewish to my knowledge, though I have some suspicions about some anscestors a few hundred years back).

He seems to be getting a pretty good head on his sholders and lately I have seen his behavior improve (at least for now) but I still worry about him.

His testing scores from school consistantly fall in the above average to high average range with a few in the average. The only thing he seems to fall low in is spelling and punctuation. Yet his report card was all D's except for one D+ (lang arts I think) and a B in science. Not because of the quality of his work, but the quanity. He has more than enough brains to succeed. He just has no work ethic, no desire to put effort into it. Add in disorganization and you can see how he earns his grades. Yet he says he does his work and turns it in, however that isn't what his teachers say.

Somehow I think with all they have going on, they have better things to do than to conspire to make one 13 year old miserable.

I think I'm going to have another cup of tea. I'm still chilly. I have a polo shirt and a sweater on.

update:
I was able to ride home just fine, though I still feel a bit less than wonderful. Lesson for today boys and girls, don't try strenous physical activity when you havne't eaten for 10 hours. It ain't pretty.

Hopefully I'll be able to squeeze in an update before I take off for the great wonders of western North Dakota (think Tatooine with snow and dead grass in place of sand.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads