Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Thirteen

Monday, Jun. 19, 2006 @ 11:29 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Ahh first day of vacation. I forgot how nice it was to sleep in and not have to worry about trying to get 5001 things done before I go back to work the next day and then going to bed guilty because I still have 4995 things left on my list.

Warren is still sleeping so I have a nice quite morning to myself. I still have a ton of things to do, as my mom/brother's train will be comming in at about 3 or 4am later tonight/tommorrow morning.

Of course Mike decided to show up and than act all suprised that I have company comming, and I have the week off. Hello idiot!! I told you a month ago, and again two weeks ago. It is your son's 13th birthday. Did you think I'd pick this week for overtime or something. And he had the nerve to be upset I was going to be around. What's that Yiddish word Chutzpah, I think I just meant the walking definition. How dare I take time off and invite my parents, my son's grandparents to come over for my son's 13th birthday. I should make everybody go away, so the parent who doesn't can pretend he is a real father.

Why does he insist on ruining everything. I'm sure he'll flip over my taking him to the Cities, or worse want to come along. Not while I'm breathing buddy.

He also picked this week to "sort his stuff" . Unfortunately his idea of cleaning and sorting is to first make things an even huger mess and then take a long break and eventually get back to putting them to there original state, maybe a little better. I tell you the man is not right in the head.

But I want my son's birthday to be a good one. Only about 27 hours until it will be Warren's exact birthday. He was born 3.23pm, Sunday June 20th, 1993. Thirteen years ago tommorrow. Hard to believve that he started life at 7 pounds 4.25 ounces, 19.5 inches long. He is now 5 foot 9 (closing in on 5'10") and weighs about 250 pounds. I find it amazing how much a human child changes in just a few years. Granted we have the longest childhood of any species on the planet, we also have the most to learn.

It's been the longest and fastest 13 years of my life. Thirteen. Quite a special number. The first official teen year, the year at which many religions and cultures ritualize one's entrance in to the adult world, the age at which one is considered old enough to know right from wrong (even if they don't always make the best choices). The age when the body switches over from that of a child to that of an adult, the entrance to the final stage of growing up.

An awkward age at best. Being neither child nor adult, hormones going crazy, responsibilites increasing exponentially, suddenly feeling things that have never been felt before, for the first time considering the idea that sex isn't as gross or weird as previously thought when one first realized that's how babies are made. The age when one discovers the opposite sex. The age when one realizes that the adults aren't all that, that the world is anything but fair, that the shades of gray far outnumber the black and white. The age many child development experts belive when one starts to develop the ability for advanced abstract thinking, when one see's what is wrong with the world, but is still idealistic enough to think they can fix it.

The age when cliques start becomming thier strongest, and suddenly the world is divided into geeks, jocks, preppies, goths, populars, loners, dweebs, and others. The age where one starts thinking about things like where they fit in the world, and that there are many valid view points other than the one thier parents have. The age of rebellion and angst. The age when every emotion feels like it will over power you, when up is way up and down is the end of the world. The age where it often seems like you are expected to act like a small adult, but are treated like a large child.

The age almost no adult would want to live over. 18 sure, 21 why not, I have a few things I would like to change. 30, well maybe. 13, Are you out of your mind. It sucked enough the first time.

I have a feeling it is going to be an interesting year.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads