Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Bring your own Whine - cheese party

Saturday, Feb. 04, 2006 @ 8:08 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Al Lewis best known as Grandpa Munster
Al "Grandpa Munster" Lewis

Al Lewis best known as Grandpa Munsterpassed away on Friday. While I was never a huge Munsters fan (I'm more of an Addam's Family girl), there was something about him that made him impossible not to like. I used to love it when he would host movies on TBS, he was usually better than the movie. He always seemed to me like he was quite the character, judging by his biography I hit the nail on the head. He and Fred Gwinn were the funniest thing (the only funny thing) on that show. May he rest in peace.

I'm really impressed by this somewhat change in Warren's attitude. Don't get me wrong, our problems are far from fixed, I certainly don't think one week was enough to solve or fix anything but the change in my attitude has definately changed his. He stilll has issues, but he has definately improved. The other day he asked me something and I said no. He actually said okay and dropped it. I nearly had a heart attack right in the middle of heavy traffic on 13th Avenue (those 2 or 3 of you who know Fargo, will understand the reference). He still tries to play me at times, but and occasionally I let him think he is getting something, but I also let him know that I know when I am being played. Sometimes I wish I was 12 again, so I could know it all. But then I remember how miserable that age is, and the feeling quickly passes.

Today I've been thinking about my "diet" and my sudden need to get healthy. I think health and improved life are only part of it. It dawned on my that next summer (summer of '07), will be the summer of my 20 year class reunion (shut up, 1987 was so not that long ago, the calander lies I tell you). I have yet to attend any of my class reunions. I had friends in school, but I was never what one would consider popular. In a class of 33 popular means you are either extremly out going and likeable, or you are a basketball/hockey/cheerleader/pompom girl/skinny and atheletically gifted. I was none, I was the fat nerd who sat home on Friday nights stuffing her face and watching Star Trek reruns, while most of her class was cruising main or out at the dam getting wasted. Most of those obnoxious skinny girls had not so skinny moms. What I really want is to show up at the reunion, all healthy and skinny and see them all fat and divorced pining for the good old days (Think Bundy). I know it is only a fantasy. But it would be great to show up and have them all go, "who the hell is that". (Maybe I've just seen Romy and Michelle to many times). It would also be great to rub my ex's face in it. Don't get me wrong. I am also concerned with my health, and living longer, but face it girls, revenge is a much sweeter dish, than lower blood pressure.

I've also been doing a little soul searching after reading a very intersting book at the library (whose title I can't think of for the life of me, but it involved philosphy, pychology and Peanuts cartoons). Something the author said hit home for me in an uncomfortable manner. Sometimes we want people to screw up and be "the bad guy" because the worse they are the better we look. Those weren't his exact words, but the basic message is the same. It got me thinking, about all those times I would get so angry at Mike (even at times beyond what was justified) and I would turn into a banshee. I always find somebody to whine to, or bad mouth him too. It occured to me, that maybe part of me, doesn't want him to get better, to ever stop being a jerk, because as long as he is a jerk and a looser, I get to play super mom, juggler of bills, discipliner of kids, cooker of meals, fixer of all that is wrong. The worse he looks the better I look. The more I have to take on, the more I am in charge and in control. It's not a part of me I like to look at, but it won't leave me alone. Am I really that desperate in need of a self image boost? Am I that pathetic?

On the brightside, I went thrift store-in today, to see if I could score a good used monitor or anything else of value. I only made one good find, but what a find it was. The first store I stopped at, The ARC, there it was just sitting there waiting for me. In almost perfect condition, a hard cover bound Complete Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, containing all five Hitchhiker stories. I love Douglas Adams, and have read most of the HHGTTG books, but to find this for only $4.49, made the whole trip worthwhile. Sometimes it is the small things that make life worth going on. Now I just have to make time to read it all - again..and make sure I don't forget my towel.

42

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads