Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Funerals and Harry Potter

Saturday, Nov. 19, 2005 @ 6:24 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

There is something freaky going on with diaryland. I updated at 9:am this morning, and yet when I go to my buddy list it says I updated 2 hours ago, not 8 hours ago. Weird..

The memorial service, which turned out to be at 1 not noon was one of the coolest memorials I've been to in a long time. Upper midwest conservative, meets hippie DeadHead (who knew that among other things the guy was a real live Dead Head who actually got to meet Jerry Garcia). Instead of the normal funeral durges and organ music they had music of life, Carribean flavored music, rock music, a whole church full of people singing "Knock Knock, Knocking on Heaven's door". I wish I would have known him more in the real world, it's no wonder he clicked with Warren and me, He was totally cool. Instead of a formal church type service, it was a bunch of his close friends and others telling stories and talking about him. It's the kind of service I would want, not some stuffy formal stand up sit down, aerobic workout, fire and brimestone stuffy tradition church funeral lead by some person who may have not even known me. There were way more people there than that church was designed to hold. Its the only time I've been to a funeral/memorial with guys in tropical prints and Grateful Dead shirts, add a Sitar and a cloud of MJ, you would think it was 1969. I got the feeling some of the older people didn't quite know what to think. I think it was the best and most honest service I've been to.

In a weird sort of way it got me thinking about what I would want when I die (hopefully many years from now when Warren is an old man). I don't want to be buried in a casket with some over priced headstone. Why should somebody pay thousands of dollars for a box that is just going to sit in the ground. I'd rather be creamated and than buried with a tree planted on top of me, that way I could sort of live on for a long time, especially if it was a long living tree, and I could go on to do something good, go back to the dust I supposedly came from. I'd also like to donate everything I could including my hair. Other than the stuff Warren might like to keep, all my other stuff could go to charity, or be sold to benefit local charities such as the Rape and Abuse crisis center or the YWCA, any group that supports woman attempting to make a life for themselves. I want a memorial that celebrates life, not one that preaches and goes on forever. I want people that knew me and cared for me to be there. Funerals/memorials are for the living, and should be a celebration of life, not a cry/whine fest.

The trip was nice, it was great to get out of Fargo. Minnesota has some great scenery even if the trees no longer have leaves and all the plant life has died. The town itself, was like stepping onto the set of Little House on the Prairie or something. Thank God Mapquest gives excellent directions. Warren loved the trip, he could live in a movie car if he could. He told me he was glad he went. I can tell he has a lot on his mind now, but I think it was good for him to go, and see that the professionals in our lives are also people with full lives outside of dealing with us. I think it also let him have a chance to let go.

Thursday we also got to see the midnight showing of Harry Potter. I'll save my review for another time, suffice to say even though they had to edit some stuff out for time, which I understand, and I was disappointed with some of the cuts, over all I loved it much more than I didn't. Jason Isaacs is still quite the sexy death eater, and those teen boys are definately growing up quite quickly, damn... and they are only a few years older than my son..something is wrong with this picture.. eessh...

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads