Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Rosa Parks, cradle cap, bird drama and wishing machines

Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005 @ 11:21 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Rest in Peace, Rosa Parks. You have more than earned. Here's to having the courage to stand up for yourself, even when it can be dangerous to do so, for showing the world that you don't have to be loud and obnoxious to to make your point and for inspiring thousands of people to do like wise. Sometimes the simplest act can have the most profound consequences. You are what real heroism is all about, and it has nothing to do with bling, or bad attitudes. May the world never forget.

Who says you have to be out in the wild to watch a real life survival of the fittest drama. This morning after I dropped Warren off at school, I ran to SunM@rt to pick up a few things (and as usual picked up more than I had planned). But as I pulled in I could see an urban version of Wild Kingdom right next to the car corral. It seems somebody who was too lazy to walk to the garbage had discarded there McDonald's in the middle of the parking lot and a very large Seagull had discovered a free meal. Or at least he had one until I pulled up to the space next to it. He flew off a few feet and was on the ground giving me the bird version of the evil eye. As soon as he decided to go back and see if I was dangerous or not, a small flock of some sort of brown speckled birds (I'm not a bird watcher, so I have no idea only that they were brown and larger than sparrows, but smaller than blackbirds), decided to check it out. Mr. Gull was not pleased and apparently getting quite cranky by then. He took off into the air and proceed to chase off the brown speckleds. Apparently he must have gotten his dander way up, because at that point he also decided that maybe if he flew around and acted like he was going to come at my car I would get scared and leave. When that didn't work he must have decided it wasn't worth it and took off, to find someother pile of garbage to have for brunch. (I should have directed him to the parking lot where my squirrly neighbor leave her bread/cereal/cracker crumbs). As soon as I get out of my car, I turned and there were the brown speckly things back at the buffet. Who says you can't observe the wild in action in the city. I hoped they liked the pickles.

Part of the reason Warren wanted to get his hair shaved again, is that he seems to be developing some sort of adolescent version of cradle cap. It itches and it scabs off, but it doesn't look much like dandruff. It looks almost like a scab or something, but I'm not sure if the reddish color is just from his hair and the scratching or if it is something else. He never had cradle cap or much for rashes when he was a baby, other than some nasty diaper rash if he wasn't changed almost immediately. Last night he used some Nioxin shampoo, as he hates the stinky Neutrogena medicated stuff, so I am hoping that it will help. If it doesn't go way or it gets worse, I guess it is back to the dermotologist for us. He needs more Hydrocortisone (the 2% that requires a prescription) as his exzema is back again, I am thinking the two may be related. It also probably explains why he likes his hair short, he says it itches if it isn't. I made him leave a small bit of hair on his head. If it were up to him, he would have been one step up from bald, he wanted to be practically scalped. EditedI did some research and I think I have solved the issue

It is not common after the first year of life until the teen years when hormone levels rise and exuberant growth returns. Teens often have a similar scalp condition, but for them we call it seborrhea (though I think �cradle cap� when I see it, remembering how far they have come).

My poor boy is just suffering yet another cruel twist of tweenage hormones. Poor kid

Apparently I'm wasting my time, by working hard and trying to imporove myself. I should just invest some money in a wishing machine or a mind control device and let physics make all my dreams come true. Let's hope this secret doesn't get out or the world economy will colapse... The scary part is I bet there are people out there who actually fall for this stuff. But than it sure beats getting yelled at by angry little old ladies who still think it is 1936.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass:
Thankful For:
Music of the mind: :

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads