Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

What the doormouse said

Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005 @ 9:25 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

In lieu of writing a long entry tonight I'm going to borrow a survey instead. I need to so some serious thinking and contemplating. My son is only 12, but he already seems to be growing up way to fast. Way to fast for my liking. Most of his friends are older than he is, and sadly I live in North Dakota, the state with the most liberal driver's licence laws and the only state that doesn't have graduated driving licensces.(in fact in ND, with parents signature a kid can start driving at 14- cool when I was 14, a nightmare now that I'm the mom). My son has friends learning to drive and apparenly one who has an older girl friend with a license. I told him he is not to get in to a car with any teenage driver unless he talks to me first. He was not impressed.

It hasn't been that long since I was a teenager. I know what happens when teenagers, especailly boys get together in cars. Its a guarantee at least one will get a case of the stupids. I will not loose my son, or have his life at risk because somebody thought some stupid stunt would be funny, or made an error in judgement from lack of experience.

I always thought I would have more time before this was an issue. There are other things. I'm not ready for this..

Name someone with the same birthday as you.
Herbert Hoover, Antonio Banderas (who knew?), Rosanna Arquette, Angie Harmon, Eddie Fisher, Ronnie Spector, Bobby Hatfield,

Where was your first kiss?
I'll assume you mean romantic kiss. Considering I was a rather later bloomer, I guess I'll be honest and say it was the Idiot Ex.

Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else's property?
No In high school I was a bit of a goody goody, and when I got older I had a temper, but I also have some morals and some self control. There have been times when I've wanted to, but I refrained.

Have you ever hit someone of the opposite sex?
Sadly, yes I have, but it was total self defense, the idiot had it comming, and the first time he hit me first. I come across as a quiet easy going person and for the most part that is who I am. However I do also have a temper and when I feel like I am being controled or pushed around I tend to lash out. Mike thought I was the kind of person who would be easy to push around, and take out his frustrations on, he got one hell of a wake up call.

Have you ever sung in front of a large number of people?
Only the invisible people in my shower. J/K. In a choir for school functions where I was one of many and could blend in with others (I'm a bit on the tone deaf side)I have. But alone, hell no. My singing voice could scare wolves away.

What's the first thing you notice about the preferred sex?
Face, I am immediately attracted to certain faces, there isn't really a quality per se that I look for, but usually by looking at a persons face, especially while talking to them, I can get a good intuitive sense of a person's character. When I met Mike, my radar went off big time, and I ignored it. That was a bad bad idea. Second would be biceps. I don't like guys who look like they live in a gym, but I also don't like guys who look like they would be in pain breaking spaghetti.

What really turns you on?
When some one just clicks with me. I like someone who can be both funny and serious, and knows when to be which. They have to be able to carry on an intelligent conversation about a wide variety of topics, and have similiar views to me, as well as somewhat similiar tastes. I also love someone who puts his family first, and mainstains steady employment, and treats others with respect. You can tell alot about a man, by the way he treats (or talks about) his mom and/or sisters as well as any ex's. I also love it when a man can cook and cleans up his own mess with out acting like a teenage boy.

What do you order at Starbucks?
I don't. I hate coffee, and Starbucks is way over priced. Give me a soda anyday, or even a good hot cocoa.

What is your biggest mistake?
Believing Mike when he said he wanted us to be a family, and thinking it could ever be possible. I knew going in he had drinking issues, but I was naive enough to believe it wouldn't affect me, and that he would change and we could live happily ever after. I was young, lonely, naive and quite stupid about people. I believed him when he told me he wanted to change and do the right thing. Never believe an alchoholic, unless he has been on the wagon for some time.

Have you ever hurt yourself on purpose?
It's not something I really talk about much It's been an issue since I can remember.

Say something totally random about yourself.
When I was little (like 4 or 5) I used to thumb through the phone books to look up my "sister". I have never to my knowledge had a sister, and at the time I didn't even read yet, not really. When I was a baby I used to love bannanas, than according to my mom, one day when I was 2 I refused to touch them, and ever since I have found them nauseating. Many foods I love now (ice cream, watermelon, eggs), I refused to even try as a small child.

Has anyone ever said you looked like a celebrity?
Looked like? no. However I was flattered once when I went to pick up a pair of eyeglasses and the good looking young guy behind the counter made a mistake and wrote down my name as Holly Hunter. I should be so lucky, as to look like her.

Do you still watch kiddy movies or TV shows?
I am the mother of a 12 year old, so I don't watch much little kid tv, however I do get more than my fair share of Cartoon Network. I also admit to loving a good Bugs Bunny cartoon, almost anything by Pixar, and probably a few others I can't think of.

Did you have braces?
I was lucky to have good teeth when I was young. I dodged that bullet.

Are you comfortable with your height?
I've been this height since I was 14, so I've learned to live with it. I'm 5'4" so I'm not short or tall.

What is the most romantic thing someone of the opposite sex has done for you?. I'll let you know when it happens, though in his defense, after Warren was born Mike ran to the store and called me to find out what I wanted. He bought me a fresh watermelon, and some magazines, which was one of the sweetest things he's done for me. He also slept in the room with me the night after Warren was born, so he isn't a total f*head, only when he isn't clean.

When do you know it's love?
Easy, when I feel comfortable enough to let go of my guard and really be myself, isntead of the person I am in public.

Do you speak any other languages?
I had some French in high school (and grew up spitting distance from the Canadian line so I watched lots of Canadian tv), though I am not very good, I can make out the jist of something if it is written or if they talk very slow. I know a handful of German words, but not anything approaching enough to actually say anything.

Have you ever been to a tanning salon?
Nope, why pay for what mother nature does naturally. I've got better things to do with my cash.

What magazines do you read?
I don't read any regularly, though my selection is quite ececltic. From Writing magazines, film magazines, SciFi magazines, news magazines, ladies magazines, you name it.

Have you ever ridden in a limo?
Nope. Not yet

Has anyone you were really close to passed away? I lost my father December 16, 1996. I also lost my grandmother in December 1979, and my beloved grandfather in December 1972-though I don't remember alot about him because I was so young. When I was a sophomore in high school a classmate of mine was accidentally shot by one of his best friends who was just playing with a gun he though was unloaded. It wasn't, and two lives were destroyed in an instant. I've been pro gun control ever since. The hardest death for me by far was my father. I talked to him on Dec 14 his birthday and everything was fine. Two days later at work I got a hysterical call from my mother, that he had had a massive coronary at 65 years young. My grandmother had something simliliar to alzhiemers when she died and the last several years of her life she didn't know who hardly anybody was or where she was, by the time she died, she didn't recognize any one but my father. She was also blind from glacoma and in a lot of pain. I think death was a relief for her.

Do you watch MTV?
Not since they stopped actually showing Music videos.

What's something that really annoys you?
Close minded people who have their minds made up before they even hear you out. Also control freaks, people who interupt and people with the manners of someone raised in the wild by wolves. I could go on and on.

What's something you really like?
A good hearty old fashioned meal, a good smelling house, Friday night when I have the weekend off, reading what other people write about me on their buddy lists, sleeping in, watching a good movie on opening night..

Do you like Michael Jackson?
ick!! Maybe if he grew up, got a grip, got some help, admitted the truth and stopped trying to become something he isn't.

Can you dance?
Can I dance? Yes. Can I dance well? No In addition to being tone deaf, I also have poor ryhthm

What's the latest you have ever stayed up?
I've gone 36 hours with out sleeping. I have also went to school for a full day, than worked a full shift, than got in my car and drove home all night (8 hours). I really don't recommend it, unless you come from a planet with 48 hour days. I have no idea how I did it. I sure as hell could never do it now.

Have you ever been rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?
By ambulance? no. I have had a friend (or rather a friends brother) drive me thier when I was pregnant with Warren, and running a raging fever along with other symptoms that turned out to be a serious flu bug along with a raging kidney infection that landed me in the hospital for a week, mainly because I was pregnant. I have ridden in an ambulence with others however. I also had to do cpr in the back of our van on my mom once while my dad drove us to the hospital as our town didn't have 911 at the time. That was the scardest I've ever been, I was only 18, not ready to loose my mom.

Do you actually read these when other people fill them out?
Most of the time

I'm off to watch Night Court..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Why do perverts suddenly think Fargo is the place to hide? Did we run an ad or something?
Thankful For: actually having a bit of money left over after paying rent from this check
Music of the mind: : I just finished watching a rerun of Grease for the 10 billionth time.. "Look at me I'm Sandra Dee..Lousy with virginity..

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads