Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Ramblings of a drugged out mind

Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2005 @ 2:58 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I just realized something sorta funny today, well funny to me. Today is my 36th birthday, and 36 years ago when my mom was having me she was 36, so that means as of today her age is officially twice mine, at least until November 18.

Not a major revelation I'm sure, but still a rather intersting bit of family trivia that had me thinking. When my mom was my age, she was a newlywed, the last child in her family to get married and a new mother to little baby me. When her mother was 36, she had already been married about half her life, and had around 9 or 10 kids, with most likely number 10 or 11 on the way, or soon to be (eventually my grandmother had 13 kids, including two that died in childhood), while my other grandmother at 36 had been married for about 5 years and was an at home mom to my aunt age 4 and my dad age 2 (and an uncle I never met who died at birth). My paternal gramma had been a teacher prior to her marriage, teaching 8 grades in a one room school house.

By 36 all of my aunts were married for several years and had anywhere from 1 to 5+ kids (I lump them together because I have so darn many). And then there is me: 36, never married, one horribly failed relationshiop and a 12 year old son. When I am my mom's age I will be the mother of (does quick mental math) a 48 year old man (now that is a scary scary thought), and my no good ex will be pushing up 80 (if he is still alive).

I find it so fascinating that people can be at such different stages of life, but yet be at the same age. I know people who are that age, and are practically grandparents, while others are just pregnant. Some people are just single (by choice or situation) or married but no kids for the same reason.

I realize this isn't really going anywhere, but I happen to be weirdly fascinated by that kind of stuff. When you are a kid, kids the same age may not always be at the same stage but you are usually some what close most of the time, but once adulthood kicks in all bets seem to be off. (Maybe its just the decongestants talking)

Oh yeah quitting time, I wonder where I'm going out to on my birthday. This week has been major suck-ass and I plan to have fun tonight if I have to walk backwards uphill to do it.

Happy Birthday to me, another year on the planet has been survived!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Why the *bleep* can't broadcasters get a volume standard, I'm tired of having it just right only to be blasted out of
Thankful For: Another year of life, such that it is
Music of the mind: : Crazy - Patsy Cline - appropo I suppose

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads