Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Holly's on vacation, this is her meds talking

Wednesday, Aug. 03, 2005 @ 10:25 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

First I want to thank everyone who sent me "Happy Early Birthday" wishes. My real birthday isn't until August 10th, but I love feeling loved, even if I haven't actually met any of you,save for two people who know about this diary, possibly soon to be three, if I make it to ValleyCon this year, which I have every intention of doing even if I dont' like some of the ways in which it seems to be going, but since I never went to any meetings I don't have a lot of room to bitch. How's that for the run-on sentence from hell, some where in cyberspace I am sure there are a couple of English majors hiding under their desks and crying in misery, over the damage I've done to the English language.

Somebody really needs to tell the "Powers That Be", that irony is only funny in some situations and only to a point. August is what should be one of the best months of my year, it is when my son goes back to school giving me some peace, it is when I get to celebrate the fact I survived yet another year on this planet, and thanks to stupid lawyers and even stupider judges it will be the month when my ex finally goes back to jail (even though he was oringally scheduled to go back in May - damn system, enough with the freakin appeals already if the guy is guilty send him up already and get him out of the hair of the people who can't freaking stand the sight of him). But August is also the month when fall starts to come to North Dakota however subtly, it is when harvest starts and plants start thier winter preparations, in other words it is when Holly's immune system kicks into overdrive and all sinus cavities go on full allergy alert. In short, it is when my misery kicks it self in to high gear, and I am forced to spend most of my time either a)tied to a sealed air conditioned room or if I want to enjoy the outside world and survive work b)drugged to the maximum capacity I can be and still function. If my writing sounds a little loopy it is because I have ibruprofen for the sinus headaches, a generic decongestant for stuffed up nasal passages, and a double dose of loratadine (generic claratin), just to keep me functional.

I know I could go to the doctor for something better, but even with my BC/BS there is a $30 copay, but my copay for the prescription, and I really don't have that money to spare right now. I get paid again on the 12th, so hopefully after I pay a couple things there will be enough so I can get my annual physical (my depo is nearing update also), and get Warren another physical as well, since it has been a couple years since his last one. Also I work for a large company that carries over the counter vitamins, alternative remedies, and standard OTC pharmaceuticals, this means I can get most OTC (ie non script) items either at cost or free, much cheaper than the store (you wouldn't believe the mark up on that stuff). At least I can breathe and function.

I have also discovered that despite my addiction to L&O and Mythbusters (and a few other shows such as How Clean is Your House - which is entertaining despite the fact it is a vaguely disquised half hour infomercial for Procter and Gamble, it still makes me feel positively OCD in neatness compared to the slobs on the show), I really can live with out television and so can my son. I don't know when I can afford to get cable again, I do enjoy it, but I also enjoy going to sleep in a silent room (something that used to drive me nuts - as a result of my mom's dealing with my driving her insane as a child and locking me in my room for an hour or two until she could deal with me again). My son is spending more time with his friends or just doing other things. We have been renting a lot of cheap (.99 for 5 days) movies. So far I have watched half of the first season of L&O (working my way backwards, who knew it had life pre Lennie and pre Jack), and have come to decide that while there are some really good movies out there, there are also a few clunkers I am so glad I didn't pay full movie price for.

An example being AVP (Alien Vs. Predator). I loved both the original Alien with Sigourney Weaver (the sequels however got progressively stupider to the point I wonder just what they were offering her to keep comming back), and the original Predator (which has now taken on on special meaning when you condiser that two of the main stars when on to become governors). However this movie just seemed to me like an excuse to profit from both franchises and make a little more money. There were so many plot holes and the monsters weren't even true to the originals. I rarely give a movie a totally bad grade, but this one was the cinematic equivalent of burnt popcorn. I will grant that the effects were pretty good, and they did make the creatures appear very realistic, I just wish they spent more time on the script.

I'm not a movie snob, I loved both Van Helsing and The Fantastic Four, even though they also had plot issues. Why? Because they were fun. I don't expect every movie to be another Schindler's List or another Star Wars, I do however need to feel like I care about at least one of the characters, and that the action is believable in the movie's world, if not in the real world. If it involves characters I am already familiar with than I have even more expectations, as does the rest of the audience as we geeks are nothing if not strongly opionated about certain characters. (Don't believe me, walk into a SW gathering shout the word canon and watch the fireworks).

Other movies we watched include Elektra (another stinker), AI (not bad, not great I have mixed feelings on this one), Ghost Ship ( a few holes, but a great premise and a fairly good story), Dickie Roberts Former Child Star (normally I'm not a David Spade fan, but this movie actually had me laughing and the movie video at the end is freaking hysterical), Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind(I have to put this one in earlier, I keep falling asleep), and yet to watch White Noise and American Splendor.

If anybody has any recomendations I would love to hear them. I love almost all genre's of movies, but especially science fiction/action adventure, and fantasy. Keep in mind I watch them together with my 12 year old as much as I love Rocky Horror, there are something I am just not ready for my 12 year old to see (or to have to explain).

Oh look time for lunch already.. yeah food!!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: The stupid Sheeple from Kansas decided to be decent and leave the guys funeral alone
Thankful For: School starts in three weeks - EEK!!
Music of the mind: : A Paul McCartney tune - I can't think of the name Band on the Run I think

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads