Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Beam me up one last time

Thursday, Jul. 21, 2005 @ 12:15 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

LOS ANGELES -- James Doohan, the burly chief engineer of the Starship Enterprise in the original ''Star Trek'' TV series and movies who responded to the command ''Beam me up, Scotty,'' died Wednesday. He was 85.Source.

He played one of my favorite characters when I first fell in love with Star Trek (in re-re reruns) back in the early 80's. The only time I could watch the show was at 1am on Friday nights after Friday Night Video's or if it was a full moon on an odd numbered Tuesday and the stars we correctly aligned I could pick it up on one of the CBC channels that we could occasionally pick up (usually Yorkton Saskatchewan channel 3 or 9 if I remember, though ocassionally we also would get channel 13 which was a treat because it was almost entirely in French - trust me watching American shows dubbed in French is hysterical).

Life was not very happy for me in jr hi, and Star Trek came along at a time when I really needed a place to escape to, a place it was happy to provide. Along with the numerous books, and eventually movies it also gave me an excuse in high school to talk to the person who would soon become one of my best friends ever. We were both fans of many of the same things, which is not something that is easy to find when your entire high school student body is less than 250 kids. She was three years behind me, but that didn't seem to matter. We were friends thru high school, a large part of college (even though we were in different parts of the state). But some where around the time I moved to Fargo and she finished college we lost touch with each other, for a number of years.

Than lo and behold after watching a talk show about lost friends reconnecting I looked up her name on the internet, came across a web site by her step father and within an hour we were exchanging emails again. She still lives in our hometown, in the house that used to belong to the parents of another friend, and doing what I expected she would be doing, fostering and caring for strays, and rescues, from various local shelters.

It's strange how the mind works. I started writing this as a good bye tribute to a beloved character actor and it has turned into a stroll down memory lane. I remember all the trips we made to Estevan for shopping and movies, the jawbreakers from hell (trust me on this they were the size of baseballs), cupcakes with so many sprinkles they were toothbreakers, getting up at 5am to be dragged to Regina for AgriBishion (huge Farm show), and goopy fudge. I remember following trucks around for fun because they were good looking trucks and we were weird kids, trips to Williston, staying up all night on graduation, playing Star Trek trivia over lunch everyday for a year, and my loosing the pizza bet by just one question. I remember the State Fair in Minot and countless trips to Williston. Even when we lost touch and moved on I never forgot. I don't know that I would have survived high school with out her, or at least I wouldn't have as many good memories.

And to think it all started with her checking out a Star Trek book and my making a comment about it. For that reason Star Trek will always have a special place in my heart. I'm not as big as a fan as I used to be, the OT is appearing cheesier everytime I watch it, but it is still quite special to me, even though I hold TNG as the Gold Standard of Trek, as it was when Gene was in charge and thank to the miracle of syndication could finally do it his way.

Rest in Peace Jimmy - you've earned it. You have no idea what good you've done for people you never even met. I have a picture in my mind of you with Gene and Deforest looking down over us. Your time on earth may be over, but you will never be forgotten..

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: http://www.oregonlive.com/edge/index.ssf?/edge/2005/20050630.frame
Thankful For: great memories
Music of the mind: : living like a refugee...hurts so good..c'mon baby make it feel like it should...hurts so good

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads