Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Picture Meme, and getting old

Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005 @ 11:49 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Would you believe that this little guy is now over 2 inches taller than me, and will be 12 years old in less than 2 weeks. That means in a little over a year, I will officially be the mother of a teenager. I'm still not sure when it happened. When he was little it felt like I was going to be changing diapers forever.Bow all of a sudden I have to look up to make eye contact with the same kid I used to carry around in a snuggly? It seemed like forever at the time, now it seems like it was so fast.

Sometimes I miss those days. It was so nice when he believed every word I said, and my word was always gospel. I was the be all end all. Now I'm lucky if he believes me when I say the sky is blue. I used to know everything, now I'm lucky if he doesn't think I'm totally out of it. Funny, I used to think the same thing of my parents when I was that age, but I always thought I would be cool, and my kids would never look at me that way. I guess karma had other plans. Who knew that someday I would be viewed as ancient and totally out of it. I mean I grew up in the 70s and 80's for pete's sake, that wasn't that long ago was it? I certainly don't feel that old, well not all the time anyway. The kid just needs to stop growing up so damn fast, he's growing up, and he's making me get old.

Yesterday was spent outside a)in search of quasi legal fireworks (seems MN and ND have different ideas of what day it is legal to buy fireworks), and then playing adult supervision while my son and his friend enjoyed making loud booms with the money they just wasted (his from his (#* dad, not mine). Then we went to the swimming pool. It was cold at first, but then felt great. I am now the proud owner of a trucker driver tan. Since my a/c (in my Ford POS) needs recharging and that is at the bottom of my financial priorities, I had my window open. Now I have a burn on one arm and a barely noticable tan on the other. I also have a burn on my forehead of all places, while the rest of my face looks like a three year old got in to the liquid blush. But at least I'm not breaking out like a 14 year old anymore.

And now for something completely different.

I stole this from JamsJunction, because it sounded like fun.

Picture Meme: Go to google images and search for the following and link to either the first picture or your favorite. You can come up with some wacky stuff.

Town you grew up in

Boy do I have some memories of that place. I saw my very first movie there when I was 7 (it was Pippi Longstocking), it was also where I freaked out on my mom 10 minutes into Snow White when I was 6 (so that doesn't count).

I also remember when I was around 8 or so, and my mom took me with her friends to see Coal Miner's Daughter. Those of you, who have seen it, remember the scene where she is on the radio and starts talking about how bologna makes you horny. Well at age 8 I didn't exactly know what that meant, so like any curious kid, I asked my mom. Loudly. In front of her friends. I never knew anybody could turn that many shades of red.

This is also the theatre that used to have free matinees every saturday during Christmas vacation so parents would have a place do dump their kids while shopping. It is the theatre where I first fell in love with the Galaxy Far Far Away, where I first developed my love of sci fi and action, where I saw my first slasher flick, several teen romances, where I saw The Killing Fields with my Dad and spent a good evening discussing US involvement in Vietnam and Cambodia, along with other political issues.

It is the home of the best cheesy popcorn (or at least was) ever. It was the place where $5 could take a kid to another universe complete with a large soda, a cheese popcorn and enough change left over for a Whatchamacallit. The floors were sticky and the seats were from the 20's, and every movie started out with a cartoon or an old Three Stooges short. It smelled like popcorn and had an art deco look to it. It was a small screen, with an out of date sound system. It only had two shows a day, usually long after they had been released. It wasn't nearly as nice as the big multiplexes in Minot or even the new theatre in Williston. But to me it was Heaven on Earth.

The town I live in now

I practically live under this. I see it every day, several times a day.

My first name


If you know my first name, the connection is obvious
Grandmother's first name

I have no idea who this is. Definatly not Gramma J.

A favorite food


yummy yummy yummy

Favorite drink


I assumed adult drink, not regular beverage

Favorite Song


Behind Blue Eyes by The Who

Favorite Smell


I wish I could afford to buy some

Also thank you to everyone for you lovely comments on my hitting 1000 entries.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who chew gum (or anything) like a cow with cud issues.. YUCK!!
Thankful For: I get to leave work early as my son has a dr. appt. Too bad its too grey and cold for swimming
Music of the mind: : Behind Blue Eyes by The Who

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads