Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Vinegar Woman

Wednesday, Mar. 23, 2005 @ 10:49 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

First I wanted to thank everybody who left me such wonderful compliments. I think I have finally managed to get my diary viewable by non IE browsers. Does anyone have trouble seeing it in Firefox, Opera, Netscape or other browser. I think I have finally fixed my css, I'm still amazed what a differece a : ; or } can make in how a site looks. Not to mention the headadche one gets when trying to find the uncooperative punctuation mark.

All graphics as well as color scheme and scroll bar were lovingly borrowed from Full Moon Graphics. She does good work, just make sure to give her proper credit for her hard work.

Warren is still having some issues at school, but things definately seem to be getting better at least for now. Deep down he knows that it is his behavior that is the problem, but on the outside it is still easier for him to cope if he can make it everybody else's fault. Hopefully things will continue to improve, he is such a bright boy and it pains me to see him waste such great intelligence and gifts. The other day he mentioned that he wants to tone down his discussions in social studies and science class because one of other kids accused him of making them look dumb. That is just so wrong. Yes he has a learning disability, but his true intelligence (which I don't feel can accurately be measured by some standardized test) is very very high.

He is not even 12 but can easily converse almost like an adult on most subject matters. When the class was talking about the Declaration of Indepence he would bring up things like how not everybody signed on the same day and how ironic is was for them to be talking about freedom when they had slaves, that would have his teacher and other students just looking at him like HUH? Same thing in science. In math he is frustrated, not because he doesn't understand it, he understands it fine, but because they want him to do things certain ways, and he doesnt' understand why if it is easier for him to do it another way he can't. (division was a nightmare). In reading he has a hard time, if he has to read and write it himself. He is a slow reader who has trouble processing written words, and who when he writes his hand can't keep up with his brain, but if it is read to him and he is asked the answers verbally he is off the charts. He also loves to be the leader and does well when he gets to teach to other kids. I feel for his frustration.

Our local school has minimal programs for gifted/talented kids, but only those who meet mainstream requirements, they also have programs for learning disabled kids, but while they understand how bright he is, the program doesn't really suit his type of learning. I am going crazy trying to get the best I can with what we have. They mean well and are trying, but tradional learning just isn't what is best for an out of the box thinker like Warren. I'm at my wits end.

I believe however that while much of his native intelligence was inborn the fact that I have been conversing with him and reading to him since he was inutero, and that I have always limited his kids shows and watched more TLC, DISCOVERY, A&E, and other educational channels instead of reality tv, or other stupid brain cell killing shows has made a difference. He absorbs information like a sponge, and is fascinated by documentaries on almost anything. He is an endless supply of questions and even today loves to be read to. That isn't to say I don't watch mind candy like everyone else, I'm just fussier about which brain candy. Like every kid he loves a good stupid cartoon, we just joke about how stupid they are, and talk about them. I also don't believe in toys that do everything that pay for themselves. Toys should be fun, but they should also require brain activity and challange the imagination. He has tons of matchbox cars and assorted building toys (legos, duplos, kinnex etc..), he has also owned microscopes, telescopes, science kits, trains carved from wood, basic board games etc.. and yet still as smart and capable as he is, he can barely read and gets A's in every class except spelling which he is flunking.

I have to tell you what the little shithead did to me the other day. He has done the vinegar and baking soda experiment many times, so he knows what happens, but as part of one of thier labs at school where they used it to make a balloon expand. Well he got the bright idea of doing it at home, but I didn't know it. So he brought me this soda bottle adn asked me to try squeezing it. I saw a little liquid in the bottom I thought was soda. The bottle was hard as a rock and I could see it fizz when I shook it. So I opened it and heard the usual PSHFF sound that one hears when opening shook soda. With out thinking I took a swig.. definately...not...soda. Needless to say I spit it out rather quickly as my son soon fell on the floor laughing hysterically. He didn't think I would drink it, he figured I would notice the smell first. He got more laughs than he meant. So now I am vinegar woman. He couldn't wait to tell his buddies. I can tell you the taste stays with you for quite awhile. I still get nauseas just thinking about it.

In work news, I had my annual review today, and except for some issue with my attendence (which I don't see as that bad 7 absenses in one year, 5 of which were whoopping cough related) and three tardies (two for car related problems, one for school realtaed), I was meets or exceeds on everything. That means I have another raise comming soon. Yayy me!!

On that note, my bed is calling me louder and louder.. time to answer it.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: I can't believe I drank vinegar..
Thankful For: At least it wasn't much, and soon more money my way..yayyy
Music of the mind: : Stupid McD's commecial.. I'm lubbin it...NOT

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads