Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

That's my boy

Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005 @ 3:23 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

What is your weird quotient? Click to find out!

I am nerdier than 72% of all people. Are you nerdier? Click here to find out!

You Have A Type B+ Personality
B+
You're a pro at going with the flow You love to kick back and take in everything life has to offer A total joy to be around, people crave your stability. While you're totally laid back, you can have bouts of hyperactivity. Get into a project you love, and you won't stop until it's done You're passionate - just selective about your passions

stable? me? I wish?

I've never been so glad to see a site come back up in my life. I was having serious withdrawl issues last night and today. I need my blogs/diaries.

Yesterday Warren had the best day (point wise) that he has had all year. The class at his old school had a field trip to a Jazz concert at a local high school (but professional musicians not high school kids). He didn't know about it, but got to go anyway (I signed field trip permission form at beginning of the year). He did great and got bonus points for that. Plus since I've discovered he loves working on his homework in the library and is much more able to work there than at home (because "its more schooley mom"), we have been going to the library every night and getting his homework done. Normally he needs 200 points per day to maintain and move up. He has only missed this less than 5 times this year, and those were because of unsigned point sheets, and after he had advanced to a point where it wasn't that big of deal.

But yesterday, he managed to pull off over 300 points, which is a record for the program. He has been the poster child for this program all year, but yesterday's feat was quite an accomplishment even for him. He was so proud he was outside waiting for me to come home (and I was early yesterday). He coudn't wait to tell me and have me sign the sheet (they have to bring back signed sheets to prove that parents saw them). I was so proud also. At the grocery store I ended up buying him chocolate milk (for breakfast the next day) and muenster cheese (for some weird reason the kid loves muenster cheese even though I hate it). I also rewarded him with another toy truck (matchbox size) from Wally World, despite the fact that he has his own fleet. Sometimes the kid amazes me.

Sometimes I look at him and its hard to believe this is the 7 pound bundle of screaming fury I brought home from the hospital almost 12 years ago, the kid who seemed to be born frustrated that his body wouldn't do what he wanted it to. (Did I mention that he was crawling at 6 months and running by 10..stubborness is a strong trait of both his dad and I). Now he keeps talking about all these cars he wants to design and invent and so on. Yet on the other hand he talks about how he doesn't care, when I know he does. I know the reading thing makes him feel dumb, even though he clearly isn't. The other night I think (I hope) I got thru to him, talking about how different people are different kinds of smart. I happen to be book smart, but wouldn't know a carbourator from and alternator (well some but not alot), and how others are musically smart, or sports smart, or math smart, people smart or business smart. That many people only have one or two kinds of smart, and just because somebody doesn't have one kind, doesn't mean they are dumb. He lit up when I pointed out that many of the kids who may be good readers, would probably have no clue how to fix an alternator belt or how an engine works. And that I may be book smart, but I can't carry a tune if my life depended on it, and that doesn't make me less smart. I think he is finally realizing (I hope) that he is smart, just in a different way. His dad isn't very book smart either even though he has alot of brains (he just decided to destroy them thru illegal pharmecuticals), he is also geared towards mechanical/electrical how things work.

I can see how much his reading level has improved, but he can't see it. I know he has the brains to do almost anything, the trouble is I have to keep reminding him of that, and get him to stop comparing himself to the kids who happen to be book-smart which seems to be the main thing schools these days care about. (Well that and the ability to make the sports teams look good). I have a feeling that he will do like I did and do much better in high school when there is more choice about classes, and maturity has increased. At least I hope so.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: No one today
Thankful For: Diaryland is back.. YAYYYY!!! Thank you Andrew!!
Music of the mind: : Still that damned annoying Full House theme

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads