Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

I'm alive and I have Gmail invites

Friday, Jan. 07, 2005 @ 3:38 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Even better pictures of an exploded battery, that fortunately wasn't mind. But as you can see, I'm one lucky mother. I never thought I'd be thankful for my glasses, but seeing as how they may have been the only thing between me and a serious vision impairment. According to my son, who was sitting in the van at the time, and whose view was somewhat obstructed by the hood of the van, my hand was smoking. Strangly except for a tiny cut (and I do mean tiny), I have no marks, burns or other injuries to ever indicate that a large container of acid and hydrogen and other dangerous substances blew up 6 inches from my face.

I do also have to add a great big thank you to all who left me such kind messages. I did actually talk to our local Ask-a-Nurse and was also put in touch with Poison Control (since it was a chemical burn). They assured me I did the right thing, and that if I have no burns than I should be fine.

My little mistake ended up costing me almost $200, with tow, new battery, core charge, electrical system check, and replacement of a headlight bulb that was already out anyway, and stopped working two days after they replaced it. But on the bright side of things, now my van starts better than it ever did before. Even when it got down to -24F (that's the actual temperature before the windchill) she took off after being in the parking lot at work for 8 hours with no protection, and not being plugged in. My old battery would have held its breathe and refused to even try starting at that temperature. My van also seems to be running better.

If you heard screaming last night, it was probably comming from me. Once again Warren had a large load of homework, and once again he decided it would be more productive to spend 30 minutes whining about it, instead of digging in and doing it. I got a little over frustrated and gave him the what for, and he decided to yell back and slam the door on his room. Later we appologized, and I admitted that I over reacted.

We talked about him maybe starting his homework earlier in the day, as it always seems that by the time we get to it (usually between 7 and 8pm) he is so tired and easily distracted that he ends up frustrated without even trying. I hope it works. He did actually get thru some of his homework last night, and then worked more this morning with little or no fight. He didn't get it all done, but he did get MOST of it done, and does have some class time to work on it also. Its a long frustrating struggle and many times I end up feeling like I'm repeating each grade as he goes thru it, and fifth grade was hard enough the first time around. I have a feeling middle school, may require a valium prescription for me. At least with high school he'll be able to take his beloved shop classes in addition to the basics which will thrill him to no end.

The other day, out of boredom or because he could, or because he thought it would be cool, (who knows) Warren decided that our regular computer speaker hook up (thru his stereo) wasn't enough out put, so he added two more speakers and we now have surround sound comming from the computer. Sometimes when he starts talking engines, electronics and so forth and how he wants to do this or that or build so and such he scares me.

While I never really thought about boy names during my pregnancy, as for some reason I was sure he was a girl, I did briefly consider naming him Westley. I like Warren better, however judging by his love all things mechanical/electronical I think Westley might have been the better choice, even if only ST:TNG fans would get the joke. Sometimes I'm afraid I'm going to come home and find out he tried to rewire the house, Tim Allen style (more power er er er!!). This is the kid, who seeing my name was off my work cup, decided to make it permanent by carving it in, with a soldering iron. (I was home). The cup is still usuable, and you gotta admit nobody is going to steal it now. (It was a plastic cup). I did also give him a long lecture about the danger of soldering, and how it wasn't designed for plastic, and how he is not to touch it, unless their is an adult supervising him. That kid is going to be the death of me yet.

Now for a complete change of subject. I recently took another step into the 21rst century, I acquired a Gmail account. I also do have Mozilla for those that are wondering, how ever mine is an earlier version, that I need to update. I have no idea why it hates my layout, and doesn't recognize my font colors. I haven't really had a chance to take alook at it yet. If there are any code monkeys out there, that might have a suggestion, I am more than williing to listen. But anyway back to what I started talking about regaarding Gmail. When I got my account I was also given 4 invites to give away. Rather than just hand them out, or bug people to find out who wants one, I was thinking it would be fun to give them to the first four people who request one, and tell me a story about the most embarrasing or dumb thing you have done. I also need a valid email address as that is how Gmail sends the link for the page to sign up on.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who can't understand why extracts are more expensive than just the dried powder.
Thankful For: My glasses saved my eyesight
Music of the mind: : I feel so helpless.......

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads