Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Changing weather and changing tastes

Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004 @ 12:24 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

"Rain rain go away.." and take the icy mess you made with you. Seriously, what is going on with our weather. Last week I was complaining about sub-zero temperatures, this week it is a hair above freezing and pouring rain down on to a nice smoothly frozen surface, making the streets more condusive to ice skating than driving. Warren and I ran to the store this morning, and I could barely get enough traction on our street to even move. The van was spinning like it was in park, not drive. Our sidewalks have been turned lethal. And it is supposed to get even colder as the week goes on, meaning I'm going to need a pair of ice skates to get to work tommorrow. (I'm off today and using the library to keep up with the world).

This morning I was making breakfast for Warren, and I started thinking about how many foods I love know that I hated as a child, and vice versa.

As a kid, I wouldn't touch fried eggs with a ten foot pool, I also wouldn't eat many veggies, anything remotely suspiscious looking, or leafy and green. My mom said when I was small I wouldn't touch watermelon, ice cream or even a lot of candy or other foods most kids love. Obviously I've changed quite a bit. But also when I was a kid, I would drink any kind of soda, didn't matter what flavor or brand, if it was sweet and carbonated it was guaranteed I would love it. My mom being an old German of course would make things like sauerkraut, borsht, and other cabbagey foods, things that were supposedly good for us. But neither my brother nor I would touch them, even under threat of no dinner. My dad however, would eat almost anything served.

But now as an adult I find I love alot of those same foods. I love a good fried egg, sauerkraut actually tastes great (especially with sausage), and even borsht is good, at least the way my mom makes it. I even find myself buying a lot more salad greens and other fresh veggies, things my inner child would rather do her own dentistry than eat.

Yet the things I used to love as a child I find I no longer have any taster for. Gum? Yuck, I get ill thinking about chewing it, not sure why somewhere between 18 and now I went from gum lover to gum loather. Soda? Still love it, but instead of drinking any carbonated beverage I can get my hands on, I've become a pop snob. Coke Awesome!! Pepsi? Fuggidaboutit.. Mountain Dew? Yes more please. Mellow Yellow? Tastes like grass to me. (My son is being a goofy boy and trying to read this over my shoulder, so I am inserting funny insults directed at him in the middle of this).

Am I the only one, who's tastes have changed so much from when I was a kid. I realize some of it is just maturing and growing up. Some of it is becoming a mom, but I'm still more or less the same person. Not all my tastes have changed dramatically. I still love chocolate, but loathe bananas. (and like to make snarky comments about annoying redheads who call me mom, and tell me I write weird things as they read over my shoulder).

So how have your tastes changed over the years?

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who think they can still drive full speed, and wonder why they skid thru stops
Thankful For: Its a mess, but at least its warm. I'm still worlds better than the people in SE Asia
Music of the mind: : Computer buzzing

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads