Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Childhood, revistited

Sunday, Dec. 26, 2004 @ 7:30 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com


Warren walking up the hill at the Dike West (local sledding hill)


Warren at the top of the hill with a tube and our sled. Metal isn't allowed (I have fond memories of my Yankee Clipper as a kid), so we only have plastic and rubber to use. You can't see him very well because of the winter gear, unfortunately.


The Dike West, one of the most popular sledding hills in Fargo. There wasn't much snow, but there was enough to get some slidding going, and enough to bring out a lot of people, even on Christmas day when temperatures were in the low teens, and it was snowing. It may not sound like it, but it was actually rather gorgeous. It almost reminded me of one of those old fashioned Christmas cards. It was the first time in many years that I have gone down a hill on a sled, but it was still everybit as much fun as I remember. However, that walk back up has gotten awhole lot harder than I remember from my childhood. Warren got a great laugh watching me go down, and we even did a few rides together, which was really a laugh. I have to remember to do it more often, I'm too young to act so old all the time. And a few trips a day or so up that hill, would do wonders for the cardiovascular system. Its steeper than it looks, even the local cross country teams use it for training in the spring. On the other side near the river, alot of cross country skiers can be found taking advantage of the white fluffy stuff.

Warren and I had a small, but good Christmas. My mom gave Warren an RC (remote control) car and he has been driving me nuts with it all day. Of course being Warren (and Mike's son) he can't leave things be and just play with it. No, he has to take it apart and play his junior version of Pimp My Ride. He already has all these plans for it, including how to add more battery power to it (insert Tim Allen grunting sounds).

After sledding we showered up and made it to dinner just before closing time. They were open for just a little bit longer, but rather than drive all over town for something else, we ate anyway. We loaded up our plates (all you can eat buffet) and stuffed ourselves silly. Then we came home and did a rather impressive imitation of a pair of beached whales. Chritmas Eve day I had to work so after opening presents that night (I come from a family where Christmas Eve is the tradional night for presents, then stocking get hung up adn when we were little food was left for Santa and his reindeer). Then we ate a light dinner of the meat and cheese assortment my mom sent and watched one of the Harry Potter videos my brother sent Warren.

My brother was sweet enough to send me the boxed DVD set of Star Wars. He had no way to know I already had it. Since I already had Wide-screen and I am not such a completist that I also wanted full screen (yuck), I took it back to Wally World. Since I didn't have a receipt I couldn't get cash, but I did get a gift card. For the first time in ten years I have a winter coat that goes over my ass and doesn't have Ca$hWi$e on one side and my name on the other. It is also much nicer, and much warmer. My brother meant so well though, that I am not going to tell him. He is slighly developmentally disabled (what some would call slow), and he knows how much I love Star Wars. So I am going to let him think the version I am keeping is the one he bought me. A harmless lie that will save his feelings and make him feel good.

Right now I have laundry going in both the washer and the drier. Because the lack of snow, but increase in traffic has left the top of the sledding hill as basically frozen dirt, Warren's (and my) clothes look like we were playing in the dirt instead of sleding. But it was worth it, as much as I complain when it gets below freezing, there are some great things about living in a cold state. Sledding, snowmobiling, snowmen, snowforts, snowball fights, snowboarding, skating outdoors beautiful Christmas card scenes outside the window, the wonders of hot cocoa (esp with whipped cream and a candy cane - and a splash of rum or schnapps), Aurora Borealis, Sun Dogs, and I could go on.

Hope everyone had a great holiday. Another year is almost over. I sure hope 2005, is kinder to me than 2004.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: I like A Christmas Story as much as anyone, but these annual 24 hr-thons are too much
Thankful For: feeling young again, going down the hill with Warren
Music of the mind: : Stupid photo printer commercial

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads