Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Why I love my son

Thursday, Dec. 23, 2004 @ 4:20 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

orlando
Virginia Woolf: Orlando. You are a challenge, for
outer events, the outside world, the time etc.
play no importance to you. Your focus is in
writing, in gender issues, and inside your own
head. Self-analysis and exploration of yourself
as well as the outer world hold great
importance to you.

Which literature classic are you?
brought to you by Quizilla
Okay I am familiar with Virginia Woolf, however I have never read this book, but it sounds like one I will have to check out, I've never had gender issues but the rest of it sounds dead on accurate.

After reading my last couple of entries, I realized that I seem to be doing alot of complaining about my son lately. While it is normal that an almost teenage boy, would drive his mother crazy, especially one that is ODD/possibly Bipolar/ED/and has a fuckwit for a father, I fear that I may be giving the wrong impression. Yes he has issues and yes he could drive a saint around the bend, and try even the most patient of people.

But he also has a good side, he is a sweet very loving boy, who despite the impression I have given can actually be quite understanding about things. Often when we don't have the money for certain things, or I can't afford to buy him something his friends have, or take him someplace he is remarkably mature about it. He also has a great heart, and is more than willing to plunk extra change in a Salvation Army tin or donate canned goods we can't use for people who can use them. He loves animals and loves to pet and play with cats and dogs.

He is also very sweet when he knows I don't feel good, and can be extra nice. While he normally views household chores as a violation of child labor laws, he has also suprised me by deciding to wash things with out being asked, make a meal (creative and intersesting but I give him points for effort and heart). He mows lawns in the summer for two neighbors on a weekly basis, and did mine as well.

He is also one of the smartest and most creative kids I have known. He has mechanical and hands on skills that some adults can barely master. Not many kids his age, could figure out how to repair a slipped alternator belt after watching somebody do it, one time. He has also been remarkably dead on, with guessing what is wrong with my van, many times I have said he was wrong only to have him be proven right. He has a vivid imagination and loves to make up stories, sometimes to the point of fooling people by pretending they are true (think Walter Mitty). One of the funnies memories I have is when he was about 4 or 5 and he convinced he almost convinced his daycare worker that I was in the hospital and he had to help at home taking care of his 4 younger brothers and sisters, while I was having the 6th kid. Thankfully the daycare checked with us, as none of it was even close to true.

He loves to work on his bike and is great at fixing things, and he wired our home computer to his stereo and speakers in only 5 minutes flat. He also managed to figure out how to wire the dvd player to the vcr which is wired to the cable so I don't need to switch to video to watch DVDs (great when the remote is aol). To be fair much of his electronic/mechanical talent is due to his father, who has the gene and also let his son 'help' him and gave him things to take apart and figure out (such as old motherboards, stereos with no plugs, record players, ancient computers, etc...).

I am also lucky to be blessed with a child who loves his veggies and many (if not most)fruits. While he would still love to live on chocolate cake and poptarts if I would let him, he also loves salads, broccoli, carrots, sweet potatoes, spinach (fresh only) and once at dinner downed and entire 16 oz bag of rommaine lettuce with no dressing, of his own free will, for no reason other than he liked it. He will try most new foods, relatively easily if the don't smell or look too weird.

Overall, I would say even though somedays I want to ask the stork for a refund I consider myself very lucky to be his mother, and sometimes I guess I need to remind myself of that fact.

And to join in everybody else I leave you with a couple more quizes.

Your Christmas is Most Like: How the Grinch Stole Christmas
You can't really get into the Christmas spirit... But it usually gets to you by the end of the holiday.

Is anyone really suprised at this.

Your Dominant Intelligence is Linguistic Intelligence
You are excellent with words and language. You explain yourself well. An elegant speaker, you can converse well with anyone on the fly. You are also good at remembering information and convicing someone of your point of view. A master of creative phrasing and unique words, you enjoy expanding your vocabulary. You would make a fantastic poet, journalist, writer, teacher, lawyer, politician, or translator.

Again no suprises

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: more stupid customers
Thankful For: I have Christmas off
Music of the mind: : Graduation march for some bizarre reason

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads