Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Psycho callers.. scary stuff

Friday, Dec. 03, 2004 @ 4:39 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Since my shift ends in 20 minutes this will be a short quick entry. One of my co-workers had the creepy caller to end all creepy callers yesterday. They were able to trace the call to an unlisted (most likely pay phone) in Indiana, but don't have much more information than that.

Let me first state that almost any 1-800, 1-888 number for large companies that is easy to find, is going to have a certain percentage of psycho-callers, loonies, and other assorted nut cases calling for no legitimate reason, but soley because they get enjoyment out of being an annoying twat. I have had a few of these callers, none of whom were scary, but who fell into the annoying but harmless category. The kind of caller who might bug somebody, but who we ultimately end up making fun of in the breakroom. Generally we keep track of these callers, and we can trace them back and block that number and in rare cases if they go far enough persue legal action, though I'm not aware of any callers who have taken it to that level. Examples of this kind of caller are the guys who start asking questions that are a little to personal (my job does not and never will require me to discuss my sex life EVER), lonely guys who have no intention of conducting business but just want to talk, people who feel the need to "share their religion" and "save us", and the typical obscene phone caller, among others, in other words garden variety weirdos, and crank callers

Then on the otherside of the coin we have the not too common, but very scary psycho caller. In ****'s case (name not revealed for privacy reasons), the guy had originally called our regular number and got himself transferred to Customer care. Normally we answer the phone with a greeting that includes this is "so and so" how may I help you. So as soon as she has answered the phone he had her name.

First he wanted to be transferred to accounting, but then he asked

Wait a minute is this ****?
. Of course she answered yes, without thinking, as she has worked her a long time and many customers have dealt with her in the past or know of her.

That is when it got scary. I don't have the exact words, but in a nutshell..

This is Somegarbled name, from SoandSuch Financial blah blah, this is just between you and me, no one is to listen in on this call or know what is happening between you can me. I have your daughter. You will not talk to anyone.. now do you want to talk to your daughter?..

I should mention she stated the man had a very deep authoritative voice, and completely caught her off guard (who wouldnt' be). And as soon as she said of course she wanted to talk to her daughter he hung up. She freaked, like anyone would, and immediately called home. Her daughter (a grown and married woman), is fine and knew nothing of anything of this. The guy was some looney who obviously enjoys terrorizing people. But she had to leave work early and is still visibly upset. I would have had a melt down, if they called me and said they have my son. But other than keeping track their isn't much they can do as they have no idea who it is.

Man I know I hate this job, but I never thought it would get this scary.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Crank callers, obscene callers, people with very sick ideas of what is funny
Thankful For: My son is home, healthy and happy. His cholesterol is also well with in normal range
Music of the mind: : can't think of the name

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads