Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

The Road to Hell

Friday, Nov. 19, 2004 @ 11:37 am
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

I just glanced at my calander and realized that Thanksgiving is next week. What the hell happened to the month of Novemeber, wasn't Halloween just yesterday, at least it sure seems that way. Time seems to just be flying away from me, these days. I just realized I completely spaced out my mom's birthday yesterday (Nov 18). I'm such a horrible daughter sometimes. My mom is far from perfect, but she always tried to do the best she could with what she had, and what she knew.

Yesterday Warren's class did that old project where each student has to write something nice about every other student in the class. There are only 8 kids in his particular class due to nature of the the class. But I still got a kick out of some of the things on the sheets. Most of the kids just said he was the best (not sure what that means, but I agree with it), smart, funny or as one kid said, funny and cool. But the one I had to laugh at (and yet agree with), was the one (and I am not sure if it was a teacher or a student - the handwriting could have been either and there was no name) that said he was wise and silly. Finally somebody else sees my son the way I see him. He actually had to hang on to that last one. I think he was secretly thrilled.

I have also come to the conclusion that there are few things are depressing as an 11 year old, who is bored because his best friend is out of town. Of course it is much easier to hang around mom looking pitiful than it is to say, go ride a bike or see if another friend can play. I love spending time with my son, someday when he is a grown up he will probably also be my best friend, however, when I need to have some time alone, or need to do something it is very disconcerting to have my son hanging in the same room looking for all the world like somebody just outlawed cars.(he lives for anything with wheels and/or engines).

He did crack a smile, albeit an "I am embarassed and you can't be my mother" smile, when we went to the clinic to pick up his meds (my dr is kind enough to give me free samples). Why did I get him to smille? It was only partially planned. Since we were in a hurry to leave I was too lazy to dig out a pair of socks, and I couldn't find my other flip flop (yes I know its Nov, NDians are very hardy), so in desperation I grapped one each of two different flip flop pairs, neither of which had a mate I could locate, so in the interest of time, I decided "the hell with fashion" And besides, it would be a cool experiment to see if anybody noticed (nobody did). On the way out, I did point it out to my son, who even then took a few minutes to notice it.

It brought a smile to his face, but it was funnier to watch him turn and ever so subtle shade of red, and then just sort of roll his eyes. "Mother!!". After all the funnest part of having (almost) teens, is the fact that they embarass so easily, and take things way too seriously. The way I see it life is too short not to laugh at yourself everyonce in awhile, and besides I enjoy being different. Why be normal, when you can be yourself? Normal is highly overrated.

I also wanted to appologize to Meg for not getting back to your comment and your question regaarding dealing with a child who has rages. I have no valid excuse other than my own laziness, but I promise to answer your question, and give a little more insight in to Warren.

Congrats to me, my last entry finally got me my first Snarky comment in the almost 4 years I've had this diary.. Go me!! I'd wonder if there should be a prize!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: People who can't figure out which item is which in our catalogs - learn to read!!
Thankful For: Pay Day!!
Music of the mind: : Highway to Hell - AC/DC

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads