Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

Ranting about cyber crap

Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004 @ 4:24 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

After spending the better part of two or more hours on two different days deleting crap from my computer, in the form of spyware, adware and other unwanted crap, I am ready to scream. I have a Armor2Net Personal Firewall, PopUp Stopper, AdAware, Google's (supposed) pop up blocking tool-bar, Spybot Search and Destroy and Bazooka Scanner, and Norton Anti-Virus (regularly updated at least once per week or more)yet I still get pop-ups (though granted not many), and find spyware/adware etc on my computer. I wish nothing but evil towards people who create and dispense these evils of cyberspace.

If anybody knows a simple way to keep me off of search engines I would be eternally greatful. While many of my googles are normal ones I expect, or sometimes even funny (Tired angry sick? - sounds like they found the right place alright). But lately every so often I have found some truly disturbing googles. I'm one of the first people to support free speech but there are some topics I want to be kept as far away from as possible, and those that promote incest, and sex abuse of children are two of the top ones.

I have found a new addiction to take up much of my online time, BlogExplosion is one of the coolest new blog sites I have found in a long time. If you want to get lots of traffic, while also finding other cool blogs, check it out. Once I started I had a heck of a time walking away.

Last night Warren and I had a last minute invitaion to a movie party at one of my friends house, so we spent the better part of the night watching some really cheesy but fun movies. While Carousel of Souls was really only passible because of commentary from Elvira, I must say if you haven't seen Shaun of the Dead, and you love zombie movies, you must check it out. Yes we watched it at a house, shhh... Its a British movie, but its one of the funniest horror spoofs I've seen. My son even loved it.

Yes I let my son watch movies like that. I didn't when he was younger, but he is old enough now to know that it is only make believe and we talk about all of the movies. He also knows how many of the effects are made and how it is done behind the scenes. He has yet to have a nightmare, and has demonstrated a strong grasp of the difference between fantasy and reality.

It doesn't help my mood any that today is also the first day of "falling backward" so to speak. I hate changing back and forth between daylight savings time and not daylight savings time. Its cool having the "extra daylight" during the summer, but it always takes almost a week for my body's internal clock to readjust again. When my brain's clock doesn't match the clock on the while, I am not a pleasant camper.

Its not even 5pm yet, but both my clock and my son's clock are screaming feed me, so its off to find something resembling actually healthly edibles for us, before tonights neighborhood dress up and beg for candy fest kicks in. I'm sure the littlest ones will be comming out soon before it gets dark. Warren also has enough energy with ou a supper of Snickers and M&M's.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: In my current mood, everyone
Thankful For: At least it hasn't snowed --yet
Music of the mind: : Whiskey River --- and no I haven't had a single drink

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads