Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

They don't tell you these things in the parenting books

Sunday, Mar. 07, 2004 @ 12:11 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

This makes me very happy. I'm so glad that story had a happy ending. It could have very easily had a very bad ending.

It is one reason why I firmly believe that while kids do deserve a certain amount of privacy as they grow older, that checking up on them and keeping close track of what they are doing is not snooping, it is good parenting. My son is too young to be fully aware of just how much danger really lurks out in the real world. He still believes that he is immune to it, and that he can protect himself. He is typical of many kids his age in that respect, like me at that age, he is still of the belief that bad things only happen to other people.

Its a constant struggle, I want him to enjoy his naivete and innocence as long as possible, because once its gone you can never get it back. However I also want him to be safe, and that requires being aware of the darker side of life. I let him on the internet and I know soon he will want to have his own chat name, and start meeting people. That scares me. He goes on the internet now, but I know enough to know what he see's and exactly what he goes to. I also have the computer in my room, not just for convience sake, but also so I can make sure to watch everything he does.

I know when he gets older, he won't like my looking thru his stuff, and contrary to how I am sure this sounds I don't believe in constantly checking thru all of his stuff. I do believe in a right to a certain amount of privacy, but I also have a right to know what he is up to. I am the mom, and protecting him is part of my job description.

He is only ten and this is already becomming an issue. Normally I would only think to look in his stuff, if I had a reason to suspect something was up. He is not an adult, he is a child, who is starting on the path to becomming an adult. Its a tough call to make sometimes.

But I implore parents, if you have kids, know what they are up to, who they hang out with. If they are online, check the history, see where they are going, run searches know who they are talking to. Kids often over estimate thier ability to handle things, and they can be easily tricked by a cunning adult with evil thoughts on his mind. I would much rather be a snoop whose child is mad about an invasion of privacy, than one of those parents who has no idea where their child is, or no idea of just what thier kid is really up to.

On other notes, Warren seems to have recovered mostly from his bout of what can only be described as the male version of PMS. One minute he was my sweet lovable boy, the next minute he was having a major meltdown because I didn't drive fast enough, or I made potatoes on purpose when I should know he had them at lunch for school adn some kid got sick, and I just want to make him angry. There for awhile I didn't know what was up. He would just errupt over everything. Nothign was good enough or right enough, and he seemed to think everybody else was responsible for making sure he had what he needed and got his work done. Apparenlty this hormone surge seems to have passed, relatively quickly and with out me putting a "kid for sale" sign on the front lawn. Of course his dad has also been away for over a week, except for a couple minutes here and there. That may have had something to do with it.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Too much internet drama at TF.N for my taste.
Thankful For: My son has came back to being his lovable self again
Music of the mind: : Veda singing to her teacher on "My Girl"

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads