Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

-

Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 @ 4:26 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

Happy New Year, Happy New Layout!!!

I was getting tired of the Grinch, and not being able to get into my own diary, because I have an ancient (read: 5 years old, geriatric by electronic standards) laptop, that has probably a million hours on it.

I'm not sure I really like this layout, but for now until I have time to come up with something better it will work. Unfortunatly I've never been one to be creative on command.

So another boring New Year's Eve at home. Warren was thrilled to stay up late enough to actually see the New Year come in, but no Waterford Crystal ball dropping was watched, I was watching Law and Order reruns, and Warren was watching Cartoon Network. Oh yeah we are such party animals. The biggest event of the night was when I brought Subway home from work, as it is by far Warren's favorite fast food.

Today I am off, I spent most of last night working on my layout, and actually fell alseep around 5 am and woke up about 11am. Now we are bumming around in our jammies watching Mythbusters on Discovery. Educational and entertaining. I love this show. How can you not love a bunch of guys who use a modified staple gun to shoot pennies at a ballistic dummy? My kinda fun. These guys are too funny, like memories of my childhood only times 100.

I remember as a kid taking my dad's Duck bombs (*Note to those not raised on grain farms, duck bombs are large firecrackers about the size of the avg thumb, illegal to have except by farmers during harvest for scaring ducks out of the fields.. The explosives are set off on a timed fuse with the idea that they sound like a gun shot and if they go off ever hour or few, the ducks will think they are being shot at and move somewhere else. They are powerful enough to blow your head off if you are not careful*)and setting them off in culverts (drainage) under the roads (not dawning on me that half the county would hear), under tin cans, and so forth. (Yes I know I am lucky to be alive). But instead of forbidding this, my dad would act as supervisor making sure we were out of the way and let us see what it would do. I can only imagine it was his way of showing us just how dangerous they really good be. But instead it only had the effect of making me want to blow more stuff up. Not exactly a typical girl reaction, not what he was hoping for. And definately not something I would ever recommend trying yourself. I am lucky to have all my parts attached.

My mom didn't know what to do with a girl who preferred blowing shit up, watching what she called "weird stuff" (ie, science fiction fantasy, action), and messing with four wheelers and snowmobiles, that never seemed to run quite fast enough. I pretty much shattered her dream of a little girl who played tea party, and sewed pretty clothes, for her dolls. My dolls usually ended up looking like extras from "The Road Warrior". Not the kind of thing one typically expects when they here the immortal words "Its a girl".

Hehe I haven't thought of that in years. Sometimes I think I was wired that way to prepare me for life as Warren's mom. Goodness knows I would be totally lost if I had birthed a tradional girly girl. I just don't think I would connect well at all, no matter how much I loved her. Good thing I have my Warren who is developing the same warped sense of humor as his mother, much to his father's annoyance. (**insert evil laugh here*.

Just more proof that things usually do work out in the end, its just a matter of waiting long enough. If it hasn't worked out it ain't over.

Hope everbody has a great 2004. Its already off to a real slow start, which for me is a good thing.

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: The drunken A*hole in MN who tried to cook his GF cat.. What a freakin bastard.
Thankful For: Quiet peaceful New Years Day, a whole new fresh year ahead of me.
Music of the mind: : "Go Johnny Go....Johnny Be Good....

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads