Contact

*Email
*Notes
*Aim

Navigation

*Newest
*Archive
*Random
*Odd Googles
*Profile
*About Me
*Cast
*Photo Albums
*Rings
*Diaryland
*Make My Day
*My Linkers

Links

*Adagio Teas
*Kasora Teas
*Wishlist
*Lissa Explains
*NerdsOnSite
*HaloScan
*FullMoonGraphics
*1000 Journals
*Free Words
*20 Questions


Have you seen Leanna Warner?
Click on photo for more details.





Click for West Fargo, North Dakota Forecast

Recently shared thoughts

A year in Review, Entry #700

Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2003 @ 11:55 pm
View my Guestbook
Free Guestbooks by Bravenet.com

In honor of my 700th entry and the last entry of 2003, I decided to take this survey that has been passed around to seemingly almost everybody.

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Moved down a rung on the old job ladder, learned a few new html tricks, nothing too exciting that I can think of. Oh and drove a van.

2. Did you keep your New Years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn't make any formal resolutions, but I did have a few goals. I made a couple (I am driving again), but I am still in financial hell. (The kind where you have to sweet talk the power company every couple months to keep the electricity on)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No. I had a friend at work who had a baby back in August, but we weren't that close.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully, no one

5. What countries did you visit?

This year none out side of my own.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

More money, a more stable job, one that I don't dread going to every morning, and that pays a salary a person can actually live on. For my ex to grow up and act like a 41 old man, instead of a 14 year old boy. (Happy Birthday, 12/30 Stupid RB!)

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I can't think of a specific date off hand that was that memorable, except maybe June 20th, when my son celebrate one whole decade of life. I can't believe I have been a mom for over ten years. OY!!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting my ex out again, getting my car and my license back, Keeping my son in public school and out of residential care, watching my son leave PSJ, and prove me right and the doctors wrong.

Not finding a better job, not putting in the effort I needed to to find a better job, not taking care of my BP/MD like I should.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Other than a broken toe, and a case of both Warren and I with Strep, nothing major Thankfully

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The Gameboy I gave my son for Christmas

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My son, who has worked really hard this year. We had a couple of set backs, but he has really tried hard and it is showing. I am so so very very proud of him. I love that boy!!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

That would be Mike the RB. Who decided that being a drunk and a jackass werent' enough, he was going to add meth to his routine of fucking up, and make my son and I pay for his inability to grow up and be a responsbile grownup.

14. Where did most of your money go?

That is a good question.. I wish I knew.. I never seem to have any.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Valley Con 28. It was my first full on con, my first year co-hosting a suite, and the first time I actually met someone from the Original Star Trek (who was a perfect sweetheart btw). It was a blast!!!

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

I can't really think of one. Most of the music I like is older music.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? - happier
ii. thinner or fatter? -thinner
iii. richer or poorer?- about that same

18/19 What do you wish you'd done more of? Less of?

More time with my son, Less time wasted dealing with RB.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Buffy, Angel, Law & Order, a lot of Discovery, TLC, and A*E

26. What was the best book you read?

I discovered Terry Brooks Landover Series, and am hoping to read Da Vinci code, but the library has it on hold for like 10 people.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery of 2003?

No new discovery this year

28. What did you want and get?

I got my son out of PSJ, and back in regular school where he is now doing great despite one minor set back in October.

29. What did you want and not get?

A job I love, with a great salary and terrific benefits. My own fault for not looking hard enough.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Return of the King, Shattered Glass

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 34. I didn't really do anything. I went to work. I went to Barnes and Nobles. I went to sleep.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Better job, more money

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

2nd hand chic. Laundry Hamper elite

34. What kept you sane?

My son.. He really keeps me grounded in reality,

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Hayden is still super Hottie number one in my heart, but Johnny and Orlando are definately a close second, and Ewan ain't ugly either.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

I'll be different, and say it involves stupid Uber conservatives who like to forget that part of the Constitution relating to separtation of church and state and that freedom of religion is for all religions, not just right Wing Christians. Don't get me started.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003?

Just cause life deals you a crappy hand doesn't mean you have to lose the game. A good player can win with a worthless hand, its all in how you play the hand

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I can't think of one. Its late and I am so tired. I deleted several of the questions, which is why the numbers skip. This is a long freaking survey. /

Happy 2004, have a safe happy New Year!!

|

Prequels ~ Sequels

Daily Dumbass: Smoking should be banned in all public places. I have a right to breathe air, not poison.
Thankful For: house has stayed clean since Christmas, which for us is a miracle.
Music of the mind: : Joan Jett again... Bad Repuation

~*~Have you read these~*~

~ Ode to a child who is no more ~
~ She's baaack ~
~ testing ~
~ Facebook me ~
~ Bleech ~






Layout copyright Me, Myself and I. Correct viewing of this site requires IE 5.0 or higher. Use of any other browser may result in unintended results.(Netscape 4.0 or higher is passable however I haven't yet been able to get it to look right in Firefox)

All contents, (except graphics) unless otherwise specified, are the property of TheCrankyOne. Please ask permission before using. Person's caught using pics of my son without permission will be severely dealth with. Graphics are courtesty of Full Moon Graphics. If you want to use them, ask Kitty not me..

Also this is my diary and if you don't like what you read, then I suggest you move on to another diary. I do not write to please others, I write for myself. If you don't like my diary it is your problem, not mine.
Any rude comments, spam, flames etc.. will be deleted as soon as I become aware of them. Also if you wish to comment please have the decency to leave a valid form of contact such as a web address or email, unless I happen to know you and would know who you are.

This Web site is Registered with Published.com



Creative Commons 

License
/> This work is licensed
under a Creative Commons License.

Mini-Bio

In every neighborhood there is at least one house that all the neighbors gossip about. This is a diary from the woman who lives in that house. I am a single mother in her mid thirties. I live in North Dakota with my son, Warren.

I tend to be a bit of a slob, and am the opposite of a girly-girl. I am geek girl, who loves Star Wars, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Buffy, Angel, action movies, science fiction, action adventure, Dr. Who, and so on and so on.

I love to write and while I don't post much fiction online anymore I would love to be a writer someday. I am also overweight, bipolar and suffer from allergy induced asthma.

Reads